The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu

Resources in the Five College Consortium

The University of Massachusetts Amherst is a member of the Five College Consortium with Amherst College (Amherst), Hampshire College (Amherst), Mount Holyoke College (South Hadley), and Smith College (Northampton). This consortium, founded in 1965, unites UMass Amherst with top-ranked liberal arts colleges, two of the oldest women’s colleges in the country, and a young, unconventional campus to expand research, curricular and cultural resources and facilities for all partners.

Students may take courses in art history or a related field at the other four colleges and count those courses as equivalent to 600-level courses at the University, provided that the courses are above the introductory level and that the instructor verifies completion of graduate work in writing. The Five College system makes available an unusual breadth of course offerings and areas of specialization. Graduate students are required to consult with the GPD before registering for Five College courses.

Faculty in Art History:
Amherst College
Smith College
Mount Holyoke College
Hampshire College