The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
People

Graduate Students

Yi-Lin Cheng

yilincheng@umass.edu

Interests: British art, craft history, history of collecting, and taste in art

Olivia Englehart

oenglehart@umass.eduu

Major: East Asian
Minor: Undecided 

Jackson Goode

jtgoode@umass.edu

Interests: Roman Imperial portraiture; ancient sculpting techniques; the rise of neoclassical imagery in 19th century Europe; provenance research on antiquities

Cecily Hughes

cehughes@umass.edu

Interests: Humor in art as a force for coping, critique and change, with an emphasis in the art of medieval Europe and the medieval and early modern Islamic world; and medieval games and play

Julia Bender

jbender@umass.edu

Interests: Islamic and Medieval art, specifically portraiture and manuscripts

Andy Bowers

abowers@umass.edu

Major: Baroque/Renaissance
Minor: Latin American 
 

Nicholas Dahle

ndahle@umass.edu

Interests: Chinese ink painting and ceramics, Buddhist art, Japanese art, architecture and garden design

Minna Heaton

mheaton@umass.edu

Major: Ancient Roman
Minor: Undecided
 

Jill Hughes

jillhughes@umass.edu

Major: Modern/Contemporary 
Minor: 19th Century European

Yonatan Levia

ylevia@umass.edu

Major: Modern/Contemporary
Minor: Architecture
 

Ana Moctezuma Cruz

amoctezumacr@umass.edu

Major: Islamic 
Minor: European 1750-1914 

Isabel Ruiz Cano

iruiz@umass.edu

Interests: Visual culture and colonization, modern/contemporary art in the Americas, critical archival theory

Samit Sinha

samitsinha@umass.edu

Interests: Influence of psychology, biology, and related sciences on Modernist art and architecture; the use of broad and intersecting methodologies to approach art, artists, and audiences

Annie Sollinger

annies@library.umass.edu

Major: Medieval
Minor: Modern

Anita Zia

aszia@umass.edu

Interests: Post-colonialism in the long 18th century, power structures such as the British Empire, and cross-cultural exchanges in Persia