The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Current Graduate Students

A list of current graduate students, including contact information and research interests, can be found here

A-F Graduate Students
Brie Adams
baadams@umass.edu
Research: Native Hawaiian identity formation and social media
Çagla Ay
cay@umass.edu
Caren Bendror
Andrew BestAndrew Best
drewwbest@gmail.com
Research: Evolutionary physiology, diversity, and evolution of human eccrine sweating, the evolution of human endurance.
Victoria BochniakVictoria Bochniak
vbochniak@umass.edu
Research: Indigenous archaeology, ethnography, historical archaeology and outreach, ethnography of archaeology, the examination of transitional sites for North American tribes during the early reservation period.
Christa Burdick
cburdick@anthro.umass.edu
Research: Research examines place branding strategies employed to make place "attractive" in EAstern France, language ideologies, materialities and conceptions of space and place under late-capitalism
Eunice Caetano e SilvaEunice Caetano e Silva
ecaetanosil@umass.edu
Research: I am interested in the Anthropology of housing, materiality in the domestic sphere and particularly curious about the social dynamics of communal living.
Elias Capello
ecapello@umass.edu
Research: Biocultural anthropologist who studies how oppression gets under the skin.  I study cultural and biological variance in transgender people across the U.S.
Lucila Carballo
lcarballo@umass.edu
Julieta Chaparro BuitragoJulieta Chaparro Buitrago
jchaparr@anthro.umass.edu
Research: Decolonial feminisms, anthropology of reproduction, memory studies, human rights, engaged anthropology, Latin America, Peru.
Dana Conzo
dconzo@anthro.umass.edu
Kathleen Crotty
kcrotty@umass.edu
Research:
Randy Daum
rdaum@anthro.umass.edu
Meredith Degyansky
mdegyansky@umass.edu
Research: I am into the always ready world-making projects that exist despite capitalist modernity and colonization as well as art as a practice and mode of research toward a non-capitalist and decolonial future.
Ana del CondeAna del Conde
adelconde@anthro.umass.edu
Research: Political anthropology, feminist theory, (in)security, collective action, and social justice. Multiple forms of insecurity that indigenous women experience in Mexico.
Caroline Devane
cdevane@umass.edu
Key Words: medical anthropology, visual anthropology, anthropology of Europe, US and Italy/Sardinia, ethnography of genetic syndromes, heritable genetic disorders, disability studies, abelism, race and culture, intersubjectivity, anthro of families and childhood

Derek Doughty
ddoughty@umass.edu
Research: Political Economy of American Collegiate Athletics, Critical Race Theory, Men and Masculinity Studies, Higher Education Assessment.

Tabitha DorshorstTabitha Dorshorst
tdorshorst@umass.edu
 
Areeg Faisal
afaisal@umass.edu
Research: gender-based violence against Palestinian women, and how the intersection between patriarchy & settler colonialism fuel its ongoing system of oppression.
Eleanor FinleyEleanor Finley
efinley@anthro.umass.edu
Research: Social movements, political ecology, energy, science and technology, climate justice and degrowth, Spain.
Amanda FuchsAmanda Fuchs
afuchs@umass.edu
Research: Evolution and ecology of baboons (Papio, sp), biogeography, movement ecology, gut microbiome diversity in Kinda Baboon (P. kindae), conservation and community outreach, Zambia and Malawi.

 

G-M Graduate Students
Vanesa GiraldoVanesa Giraldo
vgiraldo@umass.edu
Research:
Claire GoldClaire Gold
cgold@umass.edu
Research: Biological anthropology, Forensic Anthropology & Archaeology Education K-12 Outreach.
Eric Griffith
ericg@anthro.umass.edu
Justin HelepololeiJustin Helepololei
jhelepololei@gmail.com
Research: Justin's ethnographic research and activism engage with how formerly incarcerated individuals become involved in prison reform, prison advocacy, and abolitionist organizing in New England.
Castriela Hernandez-Reyes
chernandez@anthro.umass.edu
Josef Iwanicki
jiwanicki@umass.edu
Research: Archaeology
Jonathan G. Hill
jghill@anthro.umass.edu
Research:
Brittni Howard
bhoward@umass.edu
Terrell JamesTerrell James
tljames@umass.edu
Research: Queer/Trans Youth of Color, Critical Race Theory, Political Education, Community-Based Research.
E. Joohyeon Han-Johnson
hanjohnson@anthro.umass.edu
Research: cultural and linguistic anthropology; Critical Race & Intersectional Theory; race meta-discourse in the U.S.; arts-based research methods and translation; white fragility
Catherine Kitrinos
ckitrinos@umass.edu
Erica KowszErica Kowsz
ekowsz@anthro.umass.edu
Research: Kowsz's current research brings together semiotic approaches to social difference, political and legal anthropology, and critical indigenous studies.
Rodrigo LazoRodrigo Lazo
rlazo@umass.edu
Research: Health and inequalities, biocultural medical anthropology, environmental degradation, and human health, political ecology of resource extraction and toxic exposure, oil drilling and small scale gold mining, interculturally and indigenous peoples Amazonia Peru.
Ying Li
yingl@anthro.umass.edu
Research: Chinese minority, Heritage Museum, Tourism, Chinese Migrants.
Sarah Mathena-Allen
smathena@anthro.umass.edu
Kay "Kakendasot" MattenaKay "Kakendasot" Mattena
kmattena@umass.edu
Research: Indigenous archaeology, experimental archaeology, perishable artifact, community, and arts-based research and public archaeology.
Virginia McLaurinVirginia McLaurin
vmclauri@umass.edu
Research: Virginia McLaurin is a cultural anthropologist who specializes in indigenous stereotypical indigenous imagery.
Vanessa Miranda JuarezVanessa Miranda Juarez
vmirandajuar@umass.edu
Research: Research interest is Ethnography of Communication and Speaking the Verbal Art, the discourse analysis, the Linguistic Ideologies. the Linguistic Resistance and the Nahuatl Language.
Ahmad Mohammadpour
amohammadpou@umass.edu
Priscilla Mollard
pmollard@umass.edu
Claudia MoralesClaudia Morales
cmoraleramir@umass.edu
Research: Medical Anthropology, Embodiment and Language, Migration, Investigates the experiences and political agencies of migrants with amputations; La Bestia emergence and life in the U.S.

 

N-Z Graduate Students
Gabriela QuijanoGabriela Quijano
gquijanoseda@umass.edu
Research: My research encompasses current economic responses to capitalism. Other related topics: political economy, feminist theory, critical epistemologies, resistance, Italy, Latin-America.
Danielle RaadDanielle Raad
draad@umass.edu
Research: Mountaintop ethnography, archaeology, public history, engaged anthropology, cultural resource management, landscape and memory, ancient technologies, archaeological materials, vegan theory.
Cedar RobideauxCedar Robideaux
crobideaux@umass.edu
Research: TEK-Traditional Ecological Knowledge, Community-Based Research, Ethnobotany of Cannabis, Indigenous Theory and Research Methods, healing Modalities for Historical Trauma, Sustainable Indigenous Economies.
Peteneinuo RuluPeteneinuo Rulu
prulu@umass.edu
Research: Women's reproductive health, Evolutionary perspectives of aging among primates, culture-specific determinants of women's health at mid-life, perceptions of menopause symptoms.
Ryan RybkaRyan Rybka
rrybka@umass.edu

 

Seda SalukSeda Saluk
ssaluk@umass.edu
Research: Sociocultural and medical anthropology; anthropology of reproduction; anthropology of public health; feminist science and technology studies; race, gender, and sexuality; postcolonial and transnational feminisms; Turkey and the Middle East.
Ashley Sherry
asherry@anthro.umass.edu
Sofiya ShreyerSofiya Shreyer
sshreyer@umass.edu
Ana Smith-Aguilar
asmithaguila@umass.edu
Research: Relational ethnography of the state, focusing on the agrarian bureaucracy in Mexico and the contradictions inside the agrarian jurisdiction regarding the protection of indigenous territories.

Cary SpeckCary Speck
cspeck@anthro.umass.edu
Research: Postsocialist Anthropology; Czech/the/Republic; Foodways; Environmental anthropology; Gender Studies; Violence Studies

Christopher Sweetaple
csweet@anthro.umass.edu
Evan TaylorEvan Taylor
eptaylor@umass.edu
Research: Politics of heritage at the intersection of community projects, commodification, and nationalism in Acre ('Akka/Akko) and Rhodes, Specialization: Contemporary archaeology; critical heritage studies.
Cecilia VasquezCecilia Vasquez
civasquez@umass.edu
Research: I am researching the implementation of Sanctuary Policies in the Trump era. I examine local political tensions using community-based research and critical race methods.
Anna Weyher
aweyher@umass.edu
Research: Primate Conservation
Thomas C Wilson, III
tcwilson@umass.edu
Research:
Julie Woods
woods@anthro.umass.edu
Andrew ZamoraAndrew Zamora
azamora@umass.edu
Research: Comparative genomics and social evolution of primates, specializing in sifakas (Propithecus). Phylogenetics, multi-level selection and evolutionary theory, conservation, cultural evolution, Malagasy primate.
Adam ZimmerAdam Zimmer
azimmer@anthro.umass.edu
Research: I study processes of cadaver acquisitions and the human remains left after dissections in the U.S. and Iceland during the early years of modern medicine.