The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Faculty

Lynnette Arnold

Lynnette Arnold
Title: 
Assistant Professor
Contact: 
larnold@umass.edu
Research Interests: 
linguistic anthropology, care and communication, migration and transnationalism, global health, language and social justice, language and racism, digital communication and media, embodied communication. El Salvador, Central America, and the United States
Read more Lynnette Arnold

Sonya Atalay

Sonya Atalay
Title: 
Associate Professor
Contact: 
satalay@umass.edu
Read more Sonya Atalay

Felicity Aulino

Felicity Aulino
Title: 
Assistant 5 College Professor
Contact: 
felicity@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Medical anthropology, global health, critical phenomenology, Buddhism, psychological anthropology, care and caregiver subjectivity, ethnographic film, humanitarian interventions, participatory action research, Thailand
Read more Felicity Aulino

Whitney Battle-Baptiste

Whitney Battle-Baptiste
Title: 
Professor
Contact: 
wbbaptiste@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
African diaspora theory, Black Feminist theory, African American expressive and material culture, historical archaeology, African diaspora archaeology, critical heritage studies, cultural landscapes. North America & Caribbean
Read more Whitney Battle-Baptiste

Nicholas Caverly

Nicholas Caverly
Title: 
Assistant Professor
Contact: 
ncaverly@umass.edu
Research Interests: 
STS, Racism + Racial Capitalism, Cities, Techno-Politics, Design Justice
Read more Nicholas Caverly

Todd Disotell

Todd Disotell
Title: 
Professor
Contact: 
tdisotell@umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Primate evolution, molecular evolution, analytical techniques of phylogenetic systematics, history of biological anthropology, human variation.
Read more Todd Disotell

Achsah Dorsey

Achsah Dorsey
Title: 
Assistant Professor
Contact: 
adorsey@umass.edu
Research Interests: 
human biology, global health, child growth and development, nutrition, immune function, evolutionary medicine, disease and reproductive ecology, life-history theory, biocultural perspectives on health and human development, South America and Sub-Saharan Africa
Read more Achsah Dorsey

Krista Harper

Krista Harper
Title: 
Professor of Anthropology
Contact: 
kharper@umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Mobilizations around the environment, urban infrastructure, food justice, and placemaking
Read more Krista Harper

Julie Hemment

Julie Hemment
Title: 
Chair and Professor of Anthropology
Contact: 
jhemment@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Russia, post-socialism, gender and transition, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and global civil society, feminist anthropology, Participatory Action Research Methodology and public anthropology
Read more Julie Hemment

Brigitte Holt

Brigitte Holt
Title: 
Professor
Contact: 
holtb@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Human evolution, bicultural evolution of the genus Homo, functional morphology and biomechanics of the postcranial skeleton, paleoecology, Ice Age, Europe
Read more Brigitte Holt

Eric Johnson

Eric Johnson
Title: 
Lecturer
Contact: 
ericjohnson@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Archaeology, Eastern North America, cultural resource management, indigenous histories, ancient technology, human ecology.
Read more Eric Johnson

Jason Kamilar

Jason Kamilar
Title: 
Associate Professor
Contact: 
jkamilar@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Primatology, evolutionary ecology, microbiome diversity, hair evolution, biogeography, community ecology, quantitative methods. Africa, Madagascar
Read more Jason Kamilar

Elizabeth Krause

Elizabeth Krause
Title: 
Professor
Contact: 
ekrause@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Sociocultural anthropology: population politics, especially reproduction and migration; medical anthropology; political economy and economic anthropology; historical anthropology and social memory; globalization and global families; fast fashion; food and culture; transregional connections and place-based practices; ethnography & writing; digital storytelling; Italy and United States.
Read more Elizabeth Krause

Thomas Leatherman

Thomas Leatherman
Title: 
Professor
Contact: 
tleatherman@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Biocultural anthropology, political ecology, health and nutrition, medical anthropology, human adaptability. Peru, Mexico
Read more Thomas Leatherman

Ventura Perez

Ventura Perez
Title: 
Associate Professor
Contact: 
vrperez@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Interpersonal and institutionalized violence, paleopathology, etiology of diseases affecting the skeleton, NAGPRA compliance, forensics. American Southwest, Mexico
Read more Ventura Perez

Jennifer Sandler

Jennifer Sandler
Title: 
Sr. Lecturer
Contact: 
jsandler@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Participatory ethnography, activist communities and organizations, social-change in U.S. and Mexico, private money in U.S. public education, ethnography of knowledge practices of social change movements and coalitions, critical pedagogy, relational organizing, neoliberalism. U.S., Mexico
Read more Jennifer Sandler

Boone Shear

Boone Shear
Title: 
Sr. Lecturer
Contact: 
bshear@umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Solidarity and Community Economies, Higher Education, Engaged Research and Pedagogy, Activism and Organizing, Political Ecology, Ontological Politics
Read more Boone Shear

Lynnette Leidy Sievert

Lynnette Leidy Sievert
Title: 
Professor
Contact: 
leidy@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Biological anthropology, reproductive ecology, evolutionary medicine, human variation, menopause, women's health. U.S., Mexico.
Read more Lynnette Leidy Sievert

Haeden Stewart

Haeden Stewart
Title: 
Assistant Professor
Contact: 
hestewart@umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Archaeology of the contemporary, historical archaeology, political ecology
Read more Haeden Stewart

Jacqueline Urla

Jacqueline Urla
Title: 
Professor
Contact: 
jurla@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
language activism, minority languages
Read more Jacqueline Urla

Amanda Walker-Johnson

Amanda Walker-Johnson
Title: 
Associate Professor
Contact: 
awjohnson@anthro.umass.edu
Research Interests: 
Racial politics of education, critical race theory, intersectionality, cultural studies of science, politics of genealogies
Read more Amanda Walker-Johnson