Leadership Team

The UMass ADVANCE project was developed over the course of four years by an interdisciplinary team of scientists and campus leaders who span four Colleges constituting the core NSF-funded disciplines: Social/Behavioral Sciences (SBS), Natural Sciences (CNS), Engineering (COE), and Computer/Information Sciences (CICS). This collaborative interdisciplinary PI team-- which reviewed literature, collected pilot data, developed hypotheses, built relationships with stakeholders and proposed the project. The core proposal idea that emerged was: support for collaboration will advance equity for all women faculty and for men faculty of color.

UMass ADVANCE Leadership Team List

Joya Misra

Joya Misra

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor, Department of Sociology
On leave 2020-2021
misra@soc.umass.edu

Laurel Smith-Doerr smiling at camera

Laurel Smith-Doerr

Principal Investigator

Director of ADVANCE Research Collaboration
Professor, Department of Sociology
lsmithdoerr@soc.umass.edu

Nilanjana (Buju) Dasgupta

Nilanjana (Buju) Dasgupta

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences
Director of Faculty Equity and Inclusion, College of Natural Sciences
nd@umass.edu

James Allan

James Allan

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor and Chair of the Faculty
College of Information and Computer Sciences
allan@cs.umass.edu

Jennifer Normanly

Jennifer Normanly

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor and Head of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Department, College of Natural Sciences
Director of Collaborative Research
normanly@biochem.umass.edu

Gabriela Weaver

Gabriela Weaver

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor, Department of  Chemistry, College of Natural Sciences,
Special Assistant to the Provost for Education Initiatives
 

Sergio F. Breña

Sergio F. Breña

Co-Principal Investigator

Associate Department Head & Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering
brena@ecs.umass.edu

Donna Baron

Program Manager

ADVANCE Program
dbaron@umass.edu

Ember Skye Kanelee

Research Assistant

ADVANCE Program
ekanelee@soc.umass.edu

Ethel Mickey

Postdoctural Research Associate

ADVANCE Program
emickey@umass.edu

Dessie Clark

Dessie Clark

Research Collaboration Coordinator

ADVANCE Program
dessieclark@umass.edu