Leadership Team

The UMass ADVANCE project was developed over the course of four years by an interdisciplinary team of scientists and campus leaders who span four Colleges constituting the core NSF-funded disciplines: Social/Behavioral Sciences (SBS), Natural Sciences (CNS), Engineering (COE), and Computer/Information Sciences (CICS). This collaborative interdisciplinary PI team-- which reviewed literature, collected pilot data, developed hypotheses, built relationships with stakeholders and proposed the project. The core proposal idea that emerged was: support for collaboration will advance equity for all women faculty and for men faculty of color.

UMass ADVANCE Leadership Team List

Laurel Smith-Doerr smiling at camera

Laurel Smith-Doerr

Principal Investigator

Professor, Department of Sociology
lsmithdoerr@soc.umass.edu

James Allan

James Allan

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor and former Chair of the Faculty
College of Information and Computer Sciences
allan@cs.umass.edu

Caryn Brause

Caryn Brause

Team Leader for Research

Associate Professor of Architecture
cjbrause@umass.edu

Caitlyn Butler

Caitlyn Butler

Team Leader for Practice

Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director of Civil and Environmental Engineering
csbutler@umass.edu

Elisa Martinez

Elisa Martinez

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Joya Misra

Joya Misra

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor, Department of Sociology
misra@soc.umass.edu

Jennifer Normanly

Jennifer Normanly

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor and Head of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Department, College of Natural Sciences
Director of Collaborative Research
normanly@biochem.umass.edu

Pagie Warren

Paige Warren

Team Leader for Practice

Professor and Head of Environmental Conservation
pswarren@umass.edu

Kelsey Whipple

Kelsey Whipple

Team Leader for Research

Assistant Professor of Journalism
kwhipple@umass.edu

Ximena Zuniga

Ximena Zúñiga

Team Leader for Practice

Professor of Student Development
xzuniga@umass.edu