External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board provides an expert perspective on the Program development and implementation, members are volunteers who have expert knowledge of academic and research affairs including in STEM fields at organizations and institutions sharing their mission with UMass Amherst.

Anna Branch

Vice Chancellor of Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement, Rutgers University - New Brunswick

Monica Cox

Professor, Chair of Department of Engineering Education, Ohio State University

Priya Natarajan

Professor of Astronomy & Physics, Department of Physics, Chairman Women Faculty Forum, Yale University

Martina Nieswandt

Vice President of Research, Chapman University

Mia Ong

Senior Research Scientist and Evaluator at TERC, a STEM education research organization

Bobby Schnabel

Professor of Computer Science, external chair of the Department of Computer Science, College of Engineering and Applied Science Faculty Director for Entrepreneurship, and Campus Thought-Leader on Computing, University of Colorado at Boulder

Mary Deane Sorcinelli

Co-Principal Investigator, Undergraduate Education STEM Initiative
Association of American Universities (AAU) and Professor Emeritus & Senior Fellow, Center for Teaching & Learning, UMass Amherst

Martin Storksdieck

Director of the STEM Research Center and Professor of Education, Oregon State University

Kathrin Zippel

Einstein Professor in the Department of Sociology focusing on Gender Studies at Free University of Berlin