Who We Are

Leadership Team

The UMass ADVANCE Project team and the grant submission were coordinated by the UMass Institute for Social Science Research (ISSR) and supported by CSBS, CNS, COE, CICS and the central administration. The Project Leadership Team is composed of Laurel Smith-Doerr (Principal Investigator), Joya Misra (Co-PI and Director of Programming), Jennifer Normanly (Co-PI and Director of Research Collaboration), James Allan (Co-PI), Sergio Breña (Co-PI), and Buju Dasgupta (Co-PI).

Leadership Team List

Internal Advisory Board

The Internal Advisory Board provides a campus leadership and the main stakeholder perspective to the Program development and implementation that aims at the institutional transformation advancing equity for the benefit of all faculty at UMass Amherst, particularly STEM women, international faculty, and faculty of color.

Internal Advisory Board List

External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board provides an expert perspective on the Program development and implementation, members are volunteers who have expert knowledge of academic and research affairs including in STEM fields at organizations and institutions sharing their mission with UMass Amherst.

External Advisory Board List

ADVANCE Faculty Fellows

ADVANCE Faculty Fellows partner with the ADVANCE-IT Team, providing recommendations and feedback about ADVANCE programming and resources, and promoting ADVANCE program efforts in their departments. We seek one faculty member from each department for a twelve-month term.

ADVANCE Faculty Fellow List