UMass ADVANCE Announces 2021-2022 ADVANCE Faculty Fellows

August 12, 2021


UMass ADVANCE is pleased to announce the 2021-2022 cohort of ADVANCE Faculty Fellows. The 46 selected faculty members, each representing different units, will partner with UMass ADVANCE to promote gender and racial equity for faculty at UMass. Through a combination of research, programming, and practices, UMass ADVANCE seeks to understand systemic and intersectional inequalities at UMass and to lay the groundwork for a fairer, more equitable, diverse, and inclusive campus. 

Faculty Fellows provide recommendations and feedback to the team about ADVANCE programming and liaise with their departments to promote the ADVANCE program. They also inform ADVANCE about successful equity and inclusion initiatives in their units.

Each year ADVANCE announces a theme related to our focus on Collaboration and Equity. UMass ADVANCE’s theme for the upcoming program year is “Shared Decision-Making and Equity in Faculty Governance.”

“We look forward to collaborating with this year’s fellows and learning from each other,” said Laurel Smith-Doerr, Principal Investigator for the $3.1M National Science Foundation (NSF) ADVANCE Grant. “Our research shows that transparent shared decision-making is critical for faculty inclusion and career equity. The ADVANCE theme this year also relates to our continuing work to mitigate the unequal impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, which threaten to increase barriers to gender and race equity among faculty if left unaddressed.”

The 2021-2022 UMass ADVANCE Faculty Fellows are:

College of Education

  • Keisha Green, Center for Racial Justice and Youth Engaged Research
  • Ximena Zuniga, Student Development
  • Marialuisa Di Stefano, Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies

College of Engineering

  • Seth Donahue, Biomedical Engineering
  • Ashish Kulkarni, Chemical Engineering
  • Konstantinos (Kostas) Andreadis, Civil & Environmental Engineering
  • Michael Zink, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Shannon Roberts, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

College of Humanities and Fine Arts

  • Caryn Brause, Architecture
  • Debbie Felton, Classics
  • Laura Furlan, English
  • Rachel Green, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
  • Magda Oiry, Linguistics
  • Matthew Westgate, Music & Dance

College of Information and Computer Sciences

  • Sunghoon Lee, College of Information and Computer Sciences

College of Natural Sciences

  • Grant Wilson, Astronomy
  • ChangHui Pak, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Christiane Healey, Biology
  • Lara Al-Hariri, Chemistry
  • Kristina Stinson, Environmental Conservation
  • Alissa Nolden, Food Science
  • Matthew Winnick, Geosciences
  • Patrick Flaherty, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Kristen DeAngelis, Microbiology
  • Andrea Pocar, Physics
  • Alex Ribbe, Polymer Science and Engineering
  • Linda Tropp, Psychological and Brain Sciences

College of Nursing

  • Gabrielle Abelard, Nursing

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Amanda Walker Johnson, Anthropology
  • Soo Young Bae, Communication
  • Fidan Kurtulus, Economics
  • Kelsey Whipple, Journalism
  • Carey Clouse, Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
  • Lauren McCarthy, Political Science
  • Colby Gray, Resource Economics
  • Mark Pachucki, Sociology

Isenberg School of Management

  • Wenting Ma, Finance
  • Aurora Genin, Management


  • David Mac Court, Library

School of Public Health and Health Sciences

  • Mary Andrianopoulos, Communication Disorders
  • Raphael Arku, Environmental Health Sciences
  • Jennifer Whitehill, Health Promotion and Policy
  • Sofiya Alhassan, Kinesiology
  • Lisa Troy, Nutrition

Stonewall Center

  • Genny Beemyn, Stonewall Center

University Without Walls

  • Jacqueline Castledine, University Without Walls

For more information on UMass ADVANCE Faculty Fellows go to: