Developing Your No: How to Advance as a Faculty Leader

Please join UMass ADVANCE and Eve Riskin, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Faculty Director of the ADVANCE Center for Institutional Change, University of Washington for this workshop live on Zoom.

Register Here

Throughout their careers, faculty of all ranks are called upon to serve in leadership roles that require new skills. ADVANCE supports equity in faculty advancement, and provides skill building resources to help all faculty progress in their careers. As you advance to a new position of leadership, it is important to define new boundaries. Unless you take care of yourself and don’t overcommit, you can’t do your best work for your unit.  Leaders especially need to be responsive.
With this in mind, this workshop will provide tips and wisdom for saying “yes” and “no” in light of the new demands you will find on your time. Dr. Eve Riskin, Faculty Director of ADVANCE at the University of Washington, will share her reflections and experiences on this topic to help you:
1.    Learn how to spot requests that you can comfortably say no to
2.    Learn how to spot requests that you should say yes to
3.    Learn how to spot requests that you can say no to without beating yourself up
4.    Learn why you need to be more responsive than ever

This workshop is co-sponsored by the Office of Faculty Development as part of their Leadership Essentials for All Faculty (LEAF) series.

Dr. Eve Riskin received her BS degree in Electrical Engineering from M.I.T. and her graduate degrees in EE from Stanford.  Since 1990, she has been at the University of Washington where she is Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Faculty Directors of UW STARS and UW ADVANCE. With ADVANCE, she works on mentoring and leadership development programs for women faculty in STEM.  She was awarded a Sloan Research Fellowship, the 2006 Hewlett-Packard Harriett B. Rigas Award, and a 2019 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.  She is a Fellow of the IEEE.