Muaddi Darraj: American Book Award Winner!


Susan Muaddi Darraj is among the winners of the 2016 American Book Award for her Grace Paley Prize in Short Fiction winner A Curious Land: Stories from HomeCongratulations Susan!

The American Book Awards, which are sponsored by the Before Columbus Foundation, "provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America's diverse literary community." The honorees will be formally recognized October 30 at the SF Jazz Center in San Francisco.

Susan Muaddi Darraj’s short story collection about the inhabitants of a Palestinian West Bank village, Tel al-Hilou, spans generations and continents to explore ideas of memory, belonging, connection, and, ultimately, the deepest and richest meaning of home. A Curious Land: Stories from Home gives voice to the experiences of Palestinians in the last century. 

For full list of American Book Award Winners, see below:

Tributaries by Laura Da' (University of Arizona)

Curious Land: Stories from Home by Susan Muaddi Darraj (University of Massachusetts)

We Too Sing America: South Asian, Arab, Muslim, and Sikh Immigrants Shape Our Multiracial Future by Deepa Iyer (The New Press)

Loving Day by Mat Johnson (Spiegel & Grau)

Counternarratives by John Keene (New Directions)

F.B. Eyes: How J. Edgar Hoover's Ghostreaders Framed African American Literature by William J. Maxwell (Princeton University)

Trace: Memory, History, Race, and the American Landscape by Lauret Savoy (Counterpoint)

The American Slave Coast: A History of the Slave-Breeding Industry by Ned Sublette & Constance Sublette (Lawrence Hill Books)

Return to Arroyo Grande by Jesús Salvador Treviño (Arte Público)

Tomorrow's Battlefield: U.S. Proxy Wars and Secret Ops in Africa by Nick Turse (Haymarket Books)

Manifestation Wolverine: The Collected Poetry of Ray Young Bear by Ray Young Bear (Open Road Integrated Media)

Lifetime Achievement: Louise Meriwether

Walter & Lillian Lowenfels Criticism Award: Lyra Monteiro and Nancy Isenberg

Andrew Hope Award: Chiitaanibah Johnson