Juniper Literary Prizes Open for Submissions


University of Massachusetts Press Announces the Juniper Literary Prize Series

Celebrating 40 years of the Juniper Prize

Dedicated to bringing distinct, fresh voices to a wide audience, the University of Massachusetts Press—in partnership with the University of Massachusetts Amherst MFA Program for Poets and Writers—awards yearly the Juniper Prize for Poetry and the Juniper Prize for Fiction.

The Juniper Literary Prize Series confers two prizes each for poetry and for fiction. For poetry, one prize recognizes a first publication. The second is open to previously published poets as well. For fiction, one prize recognizes a short story collection. The second prize recognizes a novel. Each of the four recipients will be awarded $1,000 and publication.

The Juniper Prize takes its name from Fort Juniper, the house that the poet Robert Francis (1901–1987) built by hand in the woods in western Massachusetts. When UMass Press launched the Juniper Prize for Poetry in 1975, we were one of the first university presses to publish contemporary poetry. We introduced the Juniper Prize for Fiction in 2004 to honor outstanding literary fiction.

Our prize-winning poets include Lucille Clifton, Lynda Hull, Richard Jackson, and Arthur Vogelsang. Our prize-winning fiction writers include Rod Val Moore, Andrew Malan Milward, Dwight Yates, and Lynn Lurie. Please click for the full Juniper Prize for Poetry series, and for the full Juniper Prize for Fiction series.

The Juniper Literary Series is open for submissions annually from August 1 through September 30. All submissions are judged anonymously by a panel of distinguished poets. For more information and submission guidelines for poetry click here and for fiction, click here.

The sky is on fire with blue
And wind keeps ringing, ringing the fire bell.
—from “Cold” by Robert Francis