UHS News Archive 2016

Rapid STI, HIV testing

February 2, 2016

Get tested note graphicWalk in and get tested for sexually transmitted infections (STIs) and HIV:

  • Friday, Feb. 26: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m., Campus Center room 165
  • Monday, March 7: 4 – 7 p.m., UHS
  • Monday, March 28: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m., Campus Center room 165
  • Wednesday, April 13: 9 a.m. – noon, UHS
  • Wednesday, April 20: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m., Campus Center room 165 
  • Tuesday, May 3:  4 – 7 p.m., UHS

STI tests screen for gonorrhea and chlamydia. HIV testing involves a finger prick; results are available in 20 – 30 minutes. The clinic is open to all UMass students. Your health insurance will be billed; bring your insurance card. Testing is hosted by UHS and the Stonewall Center.

Flu is here!

UHS nurse Ann Becker gives Chancellor Subbaswammy a flu shotFebruary 1, 2016

Flu is here, but there's still time to protect yourself – come to UHS and get vaccinated!

Get involved in health with the Medical Reserve Corps

January 29, 2016

Medical Reserve Corps logoThe UMass Amherst MRC provides educational, research and leadership opportunities in public health and emergency preparedness. Check out this semester's calendar of events!

Flee the flu

January 4, 2016UHS nurse Ann Becker gives Chancellor Subbaswammy a flu shot

Avoid flu – come to UHS and get vaccinated!

Enrolled at UMass this spring?
Important health insurance information

January 4, 2016Photo illustration of health insurance policy

Students are required by state law to have health insurance. Students are automatically enrolled in the Student Health Benefit Plan and charged on the semester's tuition bill. If you have comparable coverage, you may be eligible to waive the plan. Waivers must be completed before Monday, Feb. 29, 2016.  More...

Get tested note illustrationRapid STI, HIV testing

January 4, 2016

Walk in and get tested for sexually transmitted infections (STIs) and HIV. Upcoming dates include:

  • Monday, Jan. 25: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m., Campus Center room 165
  • Friday, Feb. 5: 9 a.m. – noon, UHS
  • Friday, Feb. 26: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m., Campus Center room 165

STI tests screen for gonorrhea and chlamydia. HIV testing involves a finger prick; results are available in 20 – 30 minutes. Most UMass students' insurance covers testing; there is typically no cost. Testing is hosted by UHS and the Stonewall Center.

First, second-year students wanted for research study

January 4, 2016

You may be eligible for a research study on Epstein-Barr virus (the virus that causes mono). Participants earn $25 compensation for each study visit! To find out, come to UHS' South Clinic between 8 a.m. – 8 p.m.:

  • Thursday, Jan. 21
  • Tuesday, Jan. 26Microscopic image of Epstein-Barr virus
  • Thursday, Jan. 28
  • Tuesday, Feb. 2
  • Thursday, Feb. 4
  • Tuesday, Feb. 9
  • Thursday, Feb. 11

Questions? Call Jessica Conrad, (413) 577-5101.

Important health education course information

January 4, 2016

MyStudentBody logo imageMyStudentBody is an online health education course required for all first-year students. Those beginning in the spring semester, including transfers, must take and pass MSB between January 4 – February 8, 2016. Learn more...

Tobacco-free UMass logo imageTobacco treatment

January 4, 2016

Whether you're ready to quit, aren't sure what to do, or just want help getting through the day without tobacco, UHS' tobacco treatment program can help!

Announcement graphicHoliday and winter intersession hours

Effective Sunday, Dec. 20 – Sunday, Jan. 17

Mon. – Fri.: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m. Sat. & Sun.: Closed

Friday, Dec. 25 & Friday, Jan. 1: Closed

Wednesday, Dec. 30 & Thursday, Dec. 31

Walk-in Care, Pharmacy: 11 a.m. – 5 p.m. Lab, Radiology: 11 a.m. – 4:45 p.m. All other departments closed.

For 24/7 medical and mental health advice, call (413) 577-5000. In a life-threatening emergency, call 911.