UMass SealUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst - 2003/04 Guide to Undergraduate Programs
[ Home ][ Undergraduate Admissions, Expenses, & Financial Aid ][ Academic Information ][ Schools & Colleges ]
[ Departments & Programs ][ Other Academic Opportunities & Services ][ General Information ][ Site Index ]
Department & Program Listings
[ Departments & Programs A-D ]
[ Departments & Programs E-L ]
[ Departments & Programs M-R ]
[ Departments & Programs S-Z ]
[ Departments & Programs - Show All ]

About the University

One of today’s leading institutions of public higher education in the Northeast, the University of Massachusetts Amherst was established in 1863 under the original Land Grant Act. In recent decades it has achieved a reputation for excellence in an increasing number of disciplines, for the breadth of its academic offerings, and for the expansion of its historic roles in education, research, and public service. External funding for university research comes from a variety of sources, including the federal government, private industry, the state, and private foundations. Last year, sponsored research activities on the Amherst campus totaled over $152 million.

Within its eight schools and colleges, the university offers bachelor’s degrees in 88 areas, associate’s degrees in six, master’s degrees in 73, and the doctorate in 51. There are approximately 27,000 students: 20,600 undergraduates, 6,100 graduate students, and 200 students at the Stockbridge School. The university prides itself on the diversity of its student body, and is committed to the principles of affirmative action, civility, equal opportunity, and the free exchange of ideas.

Located in the historic Pioneer Valley of Western Massachusetts, the 1,450-acre campus provides a rich cultural environment in a rural setting. The university is one of the founding members of the Five College cooperative program, offering reciprocal student access among the university and Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith colleges.

The University of Massachusetts Amherst is the flagship campus of the Commonwealth’s university system. There are three other undergraduate campuses, at Boston, Dartmouth and Lowell. The University’s Worcester Medical Center includes the medical school and teaching hospital.
Activities at the five University campuses are complemented by outreach education, research, and service programs at sites throughout the Commonwealth, ranging from the Southeastern Massachusetts Agricultural Center in East Wareham to the Berkshire Medical Center in Pittsfield and the Small Business Development Center in Springfield.