UMass SealUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst - 2007/08 Guide to Undergraduate Programs
[ Home ][ Undergraduate Admissions, Expenses, & Financial Aid ][ Academic Information ][ Schools & Colleges ]
[ Departments & Programs ][ Other Academic Opportunities & Services ][ General Information ][ Site Index ]
[ APPLY NOW ]
Department & Program Listings
[ Departments & Programs A-D ]
[ Departments & Programs E-L ]
[ Departments & Programs M-R ]
[ Departments & Programs S-Z ]
[ Departments & Programs - Show All ]



Academic Information

Academic Calendars

2010 Spring

Mon Feb 1 Last day to Add or Drop with no record
Mon Feb 15 ­Holiday—Presidents Day
Tue Feb 16 Monday class schedule followed
Sat Mar 13 Spring recess begins after last class
Mon Mar 22 Classes resume
Tue Mar 23 Mid-semester Date (Last day to Drop with ‘W’)
Mon Mar 29 Registration for Fall Semester begins
Mon Apr 19 Holiday—Patriots Day
Wed Apr 21 Monday class schedule followed
Thu Apr 29 Founders Day (Classes meet)
Tue May 4 Last classes
Wed May 5 Reading Day
Thu May 6 Final exams begin
Sat May 8 Second Reading Day
Mon May 10 Final exams resume
Thu May 13 Last final exam, semester ends
Sat May 15 Commencement
Tue May 18 Final grades due

2010 Summer Session

Mon May 17 First classes—Session One
Wed May 19 Last day to Add/Drop—Session One
Wed May 26 Last day to Drop with ‘W’—Session One
Mon May 31 Holiday—Memorial Day
Mon Jun 7 Last classes—Session One
Tue Jun 8 First classes—Session Two
Fri Jun 11 Final grades due—Session One
Fri Jun 11 Last day to Add/Drop—Session Two
Wed Jun 23 Last day to Drop with ‘W’—Session Two
Mon Jul 5 Holiday—Independence Day
Tue Jul 13 Last classes—Session Two
Wed Jul 14 First classes—Session Three
Mon Jul 19 Final grades due—Session Two
Mon Jul 19 Last day to Add/Drop—Session Three
Thu Jul 29 Last day to Drop with ‘W’—Session Three
Tue Aug 17 Last classes—Summer Session ends
Mon Aug 23 Final grades due—Session Three

2010 Fall

Tue Sep 7 First classes
Mon Sep 20 Last day to Add or Drop with no record
Mon Oct 11 Holiday—Columbus Day
Tue Oct 12 Monday class schedule followed
Thu Oct 21 Mid-semester Date (Last day to Drop with ‘W’)
Wed Nov 10 Thursday class schedule followed
Thu Nov 11 Holiday—Veterans Day
Fri Nov 12 Registration for Spring Semester begins
Wed Nov 24 Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
Mon Nov 29 Classes resume
Fri Dec 10 Last classes
Sat Dec 11 Reading Period begins
Sun Dec 12 Reading Period ends
Mon Dec 13 Final exams begin
Sat Dec 18 Last final exams
Mon Dec 20 Snow day for Dec. 18 exams, semester ends
Mon Dec 27 Final grades due

2010/2011 Winter Term

Mon Dec 20 First classes
Wed Dec 22 Last day to Add or Drop with no record
Fri Dec 24 Holiday Break begins
Mon Dec 27 Classes resume
Fri Dec 31 Holiday Break begins
Mon Dec 3 Classes resume
Tue Dec 4 Last day to Drop with ‘W’
Sat Dec 15 Last classes
Wed Dec 19 Final grades due

2011 Spring

Tue Jan 18 First classes
Mon Jan 31 Last day to Add or Drop with no record
Mon Feb 21 Holiday—Presidents Day
Tue Feb 22 Monday class schedule followed
Sat Mar 12 Spring recess begins after last class
Mon Mar 21 Classes resume
Tue Mar 22 Mid-semester Date (Last day to Drop with ‘W’)
Mon Mar 28 Registration for Fall Semester begins
Mon Apr 18 Holiday—Patriots Day
Wed Apr 20 Monday class schedule followed
Fri Apr 29 Founders Day (Classes meet)
Tue May 3 Last classes
Wed May 4 Reading Day
Thu May 5 Final exams begin
Sat May 7 Second Reading Day
Mon May 9 Final Exams Resume
Thu May 12 Last final exams, semester ends
Sat May 14 Commencement
Tue May 17 Final grades due

2011 Summer Session

Mon May 16 First classes—Session One
Wed May 18 Last day to Add/Drop—Session One
Wed May 25 Last day to Drop with ‘W’—Session One
Mon May 30 Holiday—Memorial Day
Mon Jun 6 Last classes—Session One
Tue Jun 7 First classes—Session Two
Fri Jun 10 Final grades due—Session One
Fri Jun 10 Last day to Add/Drop—Session Two
Wed Jun 22 Last day to Drop with ‘W’—Session Two
Mon Jul 4 Holiday—Independence Day
Tue Jul 12 Last classes—Session Two
Wed Jul 13 First Classes—Session Three
Mon Jul 18 Final grades due—Session Two
Mon Jul 18 Last day to Add/Drop—Session Three
Thu Jul 28 Last day to Drop with 'W'—Session Three
Tue Aug 16 Last classes—Summer Session ends
Mon Aug 22 Final grades due—Session Three