Links
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
People

Scholars and Translators from the Colleges

The Translation Center collaborates with faculty across the University of Massachusetts Amherst and the Five Colleges. Many faculty either translate literary or scholarly texts or publish about translation phenomena. The same faculty usually offer academic courses on translation. On occassion, faculty members from the nearby colleges serve on graduate student examination, thesis, and dissertation committees at UMASS.

 

Amherst College
Name Department Email
Nusrat S. Chowdhury Anthropology and Sociology nchowdhury@amherst.edu
Krupa Shandilya Sexuality, Women's and Gender Studies kshandilya@amherst.edu
Adam Sitze Law, Jurisprudence, and Social Thought asitze@amherst.edu
Catherine A. Ciepiela European Studies, Russian, Creative Writing Center caciepiela@amherst.edu
Laure A. Katsaros French, Architectural Studies, European Studies akatsaros@amherst.edu
Ilan Stavans European Studies, Spanish, Latinx and Latin American Studies istavans@amherst.edu
Hampshire College
Name Department Email
Nathalie Arnold Interdisciplinary Arts naia@hampshire.edu
Jennifer Bajorek Humanities, Arts, and Cultural Studies jebha@hampshire.edu
Norman Holland Humanities, Arts, and Cultural Studies nshha@hampshire.edu
Robert Meagher Humanities, Arts, and Cultural Studies remha@hampshire.edu
Polina Barskova Humanities, Arts, and Cultural Studies

pbha@hampshire.edu

Mount Holyoke College

Name Department Email
Catherine Bloom Language Instructor Emerita of French cbloom@mtholyoke.edu
Nancy Holden-Avard The French Department nholden@mtholyoke.edu
Andrew Lass Professor Emeritius of Anthropology alass@mtholyoke.edu
Martino Lovato Italian Studies, Romance Languages and Cultures mlovato@mtholyoke.edu
Michelle Susanna Nazarova Russian and Eurasian Studies  
Christopher Rivers The French Department crivers@mtholyoke.edu
Carolyn Shread The French Department, Romance Languages and Cultures

cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Roberto Márquez Professor Emeritus of Latin American and Caribbean Studies rmarquez@mtholyoke.edu
Indira Viswanathan Peterson Professor Emerita of Asian Studies

ipeterso@mtholyoke.edu

 

Smith College
Name Department Email
Fernando Armstrong-Fumero Anthropology farmstro@smith.edu
David Ball Professor Emeritus of French Language and Literature and Comparative Literature dball@smith.edu
Giovanna Bellesia Italian Studies gbellesi@smith.edu
Justin Cammy Jewish Studies and Comparative Literature jcammy@smith.edu
Charles Cutler Professor Emeritus of Spanish and Portuguese ccutler@smith.edu
Eglal Doss-Quinby French Studies edoss@smith.edu
Velma García-Gorena Government vgarcia@smith.edu
Kiki Gounaridou Theatre kgounari@smith.edu
Justina Gregory Sophia Smith Professor Emerita of Classical Languages & Literatures jgregory@smith.edu
Jennifer Guglielmo History jgugliel@smith.edu
Marguerite Itamar Harrison Spanish and Portuguese mharriso@smith.edu
John Hellweg Professor Emeritus of Theatre jhellweg@smith.edu
Ann Jones Esther Cloudman Dunn Professor Emerita and Professor Emerita of Comparative Literature arjones@smith.edu
Sabina Knight Chinese and Comparative Literature dsknight@smith.edu
Malcolm McNee Spanish and Portuguese mmcnee@smith.edu
Joseph McVeigh German Studies jmcveigh@smith.edu
Christen Mucher American Studies cmucher@smith.edu
Katwiwa Mule Comparative Literature kmule@smith.edu
Thalia Alexandra Pandiri Classical Languages and Literatures and Comparative Literature tpandiri@smith.edu
Joannah Peterson Japanese Language and Literature jpeterson@smith.edu
Andy Rotman Religion, Buddhist Studies, South Asian Studies arotman@smith.edu
Nancy J. Shumate Classical Languages and Literatures nshumate@smith.edu
Joachim W. Stieber Professor Emeritus of History jstieber@smith.edu
Janie Vanpeé French Studies and Comparative Literature jvanpee@smith.edu
Ellen Doré Watson Grace Hazard Conkling Writer-in-Residence ewatson@smith.edu
Sujane Wu Chinese Language and Literature swu@smith.edu
Lu Yu Chinese lyu87@smith.edu
Nan Zhang Theatre nzhang@smith.edu
Ling Zhao Chinese ccutler@smith.edu