First Place in Energy Design

UMass Student Energy Design Layout

UMass Architecture + Design Students Win Net Zero Energy Design Competition

The UMass Architecture + Design Graduate Team won first place last week in the Northeast Sustainable Energy Association (NESEA) Net Zero Energy Design Competition.

Students from universities across New England and the Northeast took part, with the winning UMass team competing against teams from Harvard Graduate School of Design, Keene State College, Northeastern University, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Yale School of Architecture, among others.

This year’s competition featured Holyoke, MA as NESEA’s designated design site for 2013-2014.

The competition invited students to envision how Holyoke could lead the way as a sustainable city of the 21st century by using renewable energy and energy efficiency to fuel an economic revitalization.

Student-teams were charged with designing cost-effective, super-insulated and net zero energy proposals that would have high aesthetic value, to promote acceptance and adoption of such projects by owners, developers and the public.

The UMass team, comprised of Master of Architecture students Nikki Perry, Nayef Mudawar, Grant Rocco, and Matt Sutter, created a winning design that addressed both environmental and social sustainability.

Set on an abandoned site between the canals in Holyoke, Massachusetts, the students crafted a program that would promote urban farming, opportunities for education and job creation.  Their work included rigorous environmental modeling through which they developed a viable approach to net zero energy goals for the building.

The team’s winning design submission was exhibited March 4th through 6th at NESEA’s annual Building Energy 2014 conference in Boston, the most established, cross-disciplinary renewable energy and high-performance building conference and trade show in the northeastern United States.

The project team was advised by Architecture + Design Professors Kathleen Lugosch and Ajla Aksamija.

(The Winning UMass Architecture + Design Team)