The Undergraduate Degree Program in Public Health Sciences

Public Health has been defined as the work a society does collectively to ensure the conditions for people to be healthy. Professionals in the field perform a wide range of public health services. They assist individuals by linking them with needed personal health services, particularly in areas where health care is otherwise unavailable. They also assist communities by monitoring health status and mobilizing community partnerships to identify and investigate community health problems and hazards. Many are educators, informing and empowering people about health issues. Others work on a broader level, developing policies and plans that support individual and community health efforts, and evaluating effectiveness, accessibility, and quality of personal and population-based health services. Lastly, public health professionals work to maintain the integrity of our community health efforts by enforcing laws and regulations that protect our health and safety, and by ensuring a competent public and personal healthcare workforce.

The undergraduate degree program in Public Health Sciences is among the most comprehensive programs in New England. Our program features small classes, award-winning faculty, and personalized advising. Our faculty members are experts in many pressing public health fields such as obesity and diabetes prevention, women’s health, global health, aging and healthy living, and environmental health concerns.

The undergraduate major features numerous opportunities for students to participate in internships, club activities, and independent study and study abroad experiences. As a Public Health Science major, you’ll help promote health and the quality of life in diverse populations.

Want to learn more? Join us for information session for prospective students. Or visit our Admissions page to learn how you can apply to the major today!

The Department of Public Health is fully accredited by the Council of Education for Public Health. We are one of four departments within the School of Public Health and Health Sciences, which is a member school in the Association of Schools of Public Health.