Recent News

  • May 22 2013
    Lisa Sullivan-Werner, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Education Program (SNAP-Ed) and Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) Leader, and Interim Director of the UMass Extension...
  • May 16 2013
    Students in the Nutrition Department have released "Nutrition Matters: An anthology of articles by students in Writing in Nutrition." Read the anthology here.
  • May 01 2013
    Elena Carbone, Associate Professor of Nutrition, recently received the Distinguished Academic Outreach Research Award. She was recognized at a ceremony held on April 29 at the UMass Honors dinner...
  • Apr 10 2013
    Dr. Lorraine Cordeiro, Assistant Professor of Nutrition, has received the College Outstanding Teacher Award for the School of Public Health and Health Sciences.
  • Apr 09 2013
    Lisa Troy, Assistant Professor of Nutrition/the Commonwealth Honors College Professor of Nutrition, has been named a Family Research Scholar for 2013-2014 by the UMass Amherst Center for Research on...
  • Feb 01 2013
    Lorraine Cordeiro, assistant professor of Nutrition, gave the keynote address for Somerville’s annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Day celebration, “Equality Through Access,” on Jan. 21.
  • Jan 17 2013
    Elena T. Carbone, Associate Professor of Nutrition, and Elaine Puleo, Associate Dean for Research, received a two-year grant to assess the impact of new policies implemented as part of the “Live...
  • Dec 31 2012
    Assistant Professors of Nutrition Jerusha Nelson Peterman and Lorraine Cordeiro will be participating in the Keys to Ending Homelessness Conference Series event “Food Security and Healthy Living” in...
  • Dec 31 2012
    The SPHHS welcomed several new faculty members into its ranks, including Jill Hoover and Giang Pham, Katherine Boyer, Zhenhua Liu and Lisa Troy, and Krishna Poudel and Alicia Timme-Laragy.
  • Dec 31 2012
    Claire Norton, Lecturer and Undergraduate Program Director for the Department of Nutrition, has received the Residential First-Year Experience (RFYE) Student Choice Award.