SPHHS Announces 2015 Research Day Award Winners

April 8, 2015

From left: Andre Boskhomdzhiev (2nd Place, Practice Category); Dean Marjorie Aelion; Antonella Lavelanet (1st Place, Practice Category); Willie Frazier (1st Place, Practice Category); Alex Hillman (2nd Place, Practice Category); Carl Jewell (1st Place, Research Category); Amanda Hickey (2nd Place, Research Category) and Alexandra Purdue-Smith (3rd Place, Research Category)

The School of Public Health and Health Sciences is pleased to announce the results of the faculty-juried poster competition from the 18th Annual Research Day held on April 6, 2015. Posters are judged based on content and presentation and awarded in two distinct categories: Research and Practice.

The 2015 Research Day Award winners are:

Practice Award, 1st Place

Willie Frazier and Antonella Lavelanet (MPH, Health Promotion & Policy) for “Caring Health Center Nutritional Wellness Program Plan”

Practice Award, 2nd Place

Andre Boskhomdzhiev and Alex Hillman (MPH, Health Promotion & Policy) for “Culturally Relevant Alaskan Native Suicide Prevention in the Bering Straits Region”

Research Award, 1st Place

Carl Jewell (PhD, Kinesiology) for “The effects of an exhaustive run on multi-muscle patterns in forefoot runners”

Research Award, 2nd Place

Amanda Hickey (PhD, Kinesiology) for “Activity Monitor Location Affects the Estimation of Time Spent in Different Intensities of Physical Activity”

Research Award, 3rd Place

Alexandra Purdue-Smith (MS, Biostatistics & Epidemiology) for “A Prospective Study of Vitamin D and Gestational Diabetes Mellitus in Ethnically Diverse Women”

The SPHHS would like to thank everyone who participated in this year’s Research Day and made it such a success! The SPHHS Annual Research Day is co-sponsored by the School of Public Health and Health Sciences & The Rho Chapter, Delta Omega Honorary Public Health Society. A gallery of photos from the event is available below.