Nutrition faculty named Civic Engagement and Service-Learning Fellows

March 6, 2014

Nutrition faculty members Lorraine Cordeiro, Jerusha Nelson Peterman, and Lindiwe Sibeko have been chosen by UMass Amherst’s Office of Civic Engagement and Service-Learning (CESL) as 2014 CESL Faculty Fellows. They join 11 other UMass Amherst faculty members selected to receive the award, the largest group of Faculty Fellows in the 20-year history of the program.

Drs. Cordeiro (left), Peterman (second from right), and Sibeko (right) with CESL mentor Dr. Ellen Pader, Associate Director Carol Soules, and community partner Renee Moss.

Drs. Cordeiro, Peterman, and Sibeko were selected for their proposal for integrating CESL coursework into NUTR 572: Community Nutrition. As a team, they will develop a high quality community-engaged course that incorporates their field research with principles of community nutrition and public health. This CESL nutrition team will also explore the feasibility of conducting a study on the impact of this community-engaged course on the learning outcomes, experiences, and ability of nutrition undergraduates to apply nutrition science in community settings.

Drs. Cordeiro, Peterman, and Sibeko stated, "We were very pleased to be named CESL Faculty Fellows. It will allow us to integrate our research with teaching, and provide students with a well-rounded experience in applied nutrition."

The Civic Engagement and Service-Learning Faculty Fellows represent the best of the University of Massachusetts Amherst’s faculty across all schools and programs. Fellows are selected based on their efforts in promoting engaged research, teaching and learning. The CESL Faculty Fellows program has run since 1994 to support the creation of new service-learning courses. The highly competitive Faculty Fellows program receives funding from members of the Provost’s Committee on Service-Learning, former Faculty Fellows, and a grant from the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education's Vision Project.

Read here for more information on this year’s 2014 CESL faculty fellows.