Doctoral student Nozipho Maziya receives Student Family Research Travel Award

December 6, 2013

Nozipho Maziya, a doctoral candidate in Public Health with a concentration in Nutrition, recently received a 2013 Student Family Research Travel Award from the UMass Amherst Center for Research on Families (CRF). Awards are given to graduate students who have written an outstanding paper on issues of family research to be presented at a national research conference.

Maziya presented her paper “Adolescent Nutritional Status and its Association with Village-Level Factors in Tanzania” at the American Public Health Association’s 141st Annual Meeting and Exposition in Boston this past November. She will also be presenting at Experimental Biology in April 2014 in San Diego, CA.

Maziya obtained her bachelor’s degree in Food Science and Nutrition from the University of Swaziland. She came to UMass Amherst as a Fulbright Scholar in 2011, and has recently completed her Master’s thesis, which examined associations between contextual environments and nutritional status of adolescents within villages of the Kilosa District, Tanzania. Her research interests include child and adolescent malnutrition, food insecurity, chronic disease prevention (obesity and HIV/AIDS), determinants of health, and health promotion. In her home country, Maziya facilitated the establishment and implementation of projects aimed at preventing HIV/AIDS, promoting maternal and child health, reducing poverty and food insecurity, and improving clean water access and sanitation.

The CRF helps students improve their research, develop their presentation skills, and grow their professional networks by subsidizing their cost of travelling to these conferences. Maziya joins fellow 2013 travel award recipients Laura Kurdziel, Psychology, and Liliana Herakova, Communication. The students will continue to engage with the CRF by presenting their research to peers at two roundtable events.

The next round of CRF Family Research Travel Awards will be given this spring for conference travel in 2014.

For more information on the 2013 travel award recipients, read here.