Advising and Academic Resources

The School of Public Health and Health Sciences provides a variety of advising and academic resources to students across all of its departments. From the Academic Dean’s Office to individual department program directors and advisors, the School helps students address their academic questions and concerns and make the most of their SPHHS education.

Have an academic advising question? Contact your advisor today.

Advising Contacts


SPHHS Academic Dean’s Office

Administrative Assistant to the Academic Dean
Adrian Grace
125 Arnold House
413-545-6883 (Phone)
413-545-0501 (Fax)
deansphhs@schoolph.umass.edu


Communication Disorders

Undergraduate Program Director
Dr. Richard Freyman
201A 358 North Pleasant St.
rlf@comdis.umass.edu

Graduate Program Director
Dr. Karen Helfer
RM 201B
358 North Pleasant Street
khelfer@comdis.umass.edu


Kinesiology

Undergraduate Program Director
Dr. Frank Rife
109 Totman
frife@kin.umass.edu

Assistant Undergraduate Advisor
Ms. Rebecca Thibault
130B Totman
rthibaul@kin.umass.edu

Graduate Program Director
Dr. Jane Kent-Braun
108 Totman
gradadmissions@kin.umass.edu


Nutrition

Undergraduate Program Director
Ms. Claire Norton
224 Chenoweth
cpnorton@nutrition.umass.edu

Graduate Program Director
Dr. Elena Carbone
208 Chenoweth
ecarbone@nutrition.umass.edu


Public Health

Undergraduate Program Director
Dr. Gloria DiFulvio
302 Arnold House
gloria@schoolph.umass.edu

Undergraduate Program Advisor
Ms. Megan Griffin
305 Arnold House
megriffin@schoolph.umass.edu

Public Health Peer Advisors (Undergraduate)
330 Arnold House
peeradvising@schoolph.umass.edu

Graduate Program Director
Dr. Paula Stamps
311 Arnold House
stamps@schoolph.umass.edu


Online Programs

Director, Continuing Education Programs
Ms. Lori Peterson
101 Arnold House
PHonline@schoolph.umass.edu

Online MPH in Nutrition
Patricia (Patsy) Beffa-Negrini, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.
Program Coordinator
208 Chenoweth
MPHN@nutrition.umass.edu


Additional Academic Resources