Skip Navigation
UMass Amherst Back to LLC Site

Spanish and Portuguese, Deparment of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

People

Faculty





Luiz Amaral
Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese Director
Office: Herter 404
Phone: (413) 545-4790
E-mail: amaral AT umass.edu
Meghan Armstrong
Assistant Professor
Spanish Major Advisor
Office: Herter 419
Phone: (413) 545-4910
E-mail: armstrong AT spanport.umass.edu
Carole Cloutier
Spanish Language Program Director
Office: Herter 408
Phone: (413) 545-4916
E-mail: cloutier@spanport.umass.edu
Francisco Cota Fagundes
Professor
Portuguese Language Program Director
Honors Program Director
Office: Herter 406
Phone: (413) 545-4914
E-mail: fagundes@spanport.umass.edu
Regina Galasso
Assistant Professor
Office: Herter 409
Phone: (413) 545-0832
E-mail: rgalasso@umass.edu
Patricia Gubitosi
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Program Director
Office: Herter 423
Phone: (413) 545-4917
E-mail: gubitosi@spanport.umass.edu
Albert Lloret
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director
Office: Herter 433
Phone: (413) 577-4723
E-mail: lloret@spanport.umass.edu
Luis A. Marentes
Associate Professor
Spanish Major Advisor
Office: Herter 425
Phone: (413) 545-4923
E-mail: marentes@spanport.umass.edu
Guillem Molla
Catalan Language Program Director
Catalan Minor Advisor
Office: Herter 421
Phone: (413) 545-2044
E-mail: gmolla@spanport.umass.edu
Jose N. Ornelas
Professor
Spanish Major Advisor
Office: Herter 422
Phone: (413) 545-4921
E-mail: ornelas@spanport.umass.edu
Daphne Patai
Professor
Office: Herter 402
Phone: (413) 545 4922
E-mail: daphne.patai@spanport.umass.edu
Emma Rivera-Rábago
Senior Lecturer
Spanish Minor Advisor
Office: Herter 407
E-mail: rivera@spanport.umass.edu
Margara Russotto
Professor
Office: Herter 426
Phone: (413) 545-4924
E-mail: margheri@spanport.umass.edu
David Solás
Assistant Professor
Office: Herter 419
Phone: (413) 545-4910
E-mail: dsolas@umass.edu
Barbara Zecchi
Professor
Spanish Study Abroad Director
Office: Herter 414
Phone: (413) 545-2887
E-mail: bzecchi@spanport.umass.edu

Current Visiting Faculty

Diogenes Costa Curras
Fall 2015
Lecturer
University of Michigan
Office: Herter 516
E-mail: dcostacurras@umass.edu
Idoia Martinez del Mozo
Fall 2015
Office: Herter 403
E-mail: idoiam@spanport.umass.edu
Carlos Molina-Vital
Fall 2015
Office: Herter 417
Email: cmolinavita@spanport.umass.edu

Staff

Mary Ellen White Maynard
Undergraduate Program
Office: Herter 418
Phone: (413) 545-2807
E-mail: maynard@umass.edu

Teaching Assistants/Associates

Name:
Office:
Email:
Ana Alonso Hampshire 221 aalonso@umass.edu
Susana Antunes Hampshire 221 susana@spanport.umass.edu
Alba Arias Hampshire 215 aariasalvare@spanport.umass.edu
Albert Asunción Hampshire 217 aasuncionben@spanport.umass.edu
Sheryl Bernardo Hampshire 217 sabernar@spanport.umass.edu
Christina M. Beaubien Hampshire 217 cbeaubie@spanport.umass.edu
Danielle Bovee Hampshire 219 dbovee@spanport.umass.edu
Pau Canigueral Hampshire 221 pcanigueralb@spanport.umass.edu
Molly Cole Hampshire 221 mollycole@spanport.umass.edu
Gloria Cuesta Hampshire 215 gcuestagonza@spanport.umass.edu
Rossano Dalla Valle Hampshire 209 rdallava@spanport.umass.edu
Fiona Dixon Hampshire 221 fddixon@spanport.umass.edu
Andie Faber Hampshire 219 afaber@spanport.umass.edu
Agnieszka Gabor Hampshire 219 agabor@umass.edu
Borja Gama de Cossío Hampshire 209 bgamadec@acad.umass.edu
Eduardo García-Fernández Hampshire 221 egarciaferna@acad.umass.edu
Odalis Patricia Hidalgo Hampshire 215 ohidalgo@spanport.umass.edu
Gina Malagold Hampshire 215 gmalagold@umass.edu
Gorka Maiztegui Hampshire 215 gmaizteg@spanport.umass.edu
Irene Melé Ballesteros Hampshire 217 imelebal@spanport.umass.edu
Deliabridget Martinez Hampshire 209 dmartinez@spanport.umass.edu
Isaac McAlister Hampshire 217 imcalister@umass.edu
Dolores Juan Moreno Hampshire 219 djuanmoreno@spanport.umass.edu
Pilar Osorio Hampshire 209 mdosorio@umass.edu
Jaime Ovejero Hampshire 217 jovejerorodr@umass.edu
Claudia Paez Lotero Hampshire 219 cpaezlot@spanport.umass.edu
Elisabet Pallas Hampshire 221 epallas@spanport.umass.edu
Maribel Rams Hampshire 209 malbuise@spanport.umass.edu
Aida Roldan Hampshire 209 aroldangarci@spanport.umass.edu
Giseli Cristina Tordin Hampshire 217 gtordin@spanport.umass.edu
Covadonga Sanchez Hampshire 219 sancheza@spanport.umass.edu
Carmen Santamaría Hampshire 217 csantamarias@umass.edu
Antonio Terrón Barroso Hampshire 217 aterronbarro@umass.edu
Maria Turrero-Garcia Hampshire 209 mturrero@acad.umass.edu
Santiago Vidales Hampshire 219 svidales@spanport.umass.edu

Current Graduate Students

#
Name
Program
Adviser
1 Ana Alonso M.A. Luiz Amaral
2 Susana Antunes Ph.D. Francisco Fagundes
3 Alba Arias Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi
4 Albert Asunción M.A. Barbara Zecchi
5 Sonia Battle Ph.D. Luis Marentes
6 Christina Beaubien Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
7 Amy Beresky M.A. Patricia Gubitosi
8 Sheryl Bernardo Ph.D. (ABD) Patricia Gubitosi
9 Danielle Bovee M.A. Albert Lloret
10 Pau Canigueral Ph.D. Albert Lloret
11 Esther Castro-Cuenca Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
12 Carmen Cosme Ph.D. (ABD) José Ornelas
13 Gloria Cuesta Ph.D. Margara Russotto
14 Flavia Cunha Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi
15 Rossano Dalla Valle Ph.D. (ABD) Albert Lloret
16 Judy de Oliveira Ph.D. (ABD) Patricia Gubitosi
17 Fiona Dixon Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi & Meghan Armstrong
18 Andie Faber Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
19 José Figueiredo Ph.D. Francisco Fagundes
20 Agnieszka Gabor M.A. Daphne Patai
21 Borja Gama de Cossío Ph.D. (ABD) Albert Lloret
22 Eduardo García-Fernández M.A. Luiz Amaral
23 Ramiro Garcia-Olano Ph.D. (ABD) Luis Marentes & José Ornelas
24 Odalis Hidalgo Ph.D. (ABD) Luis Marentes
25 Dolores Juan Moreno Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
26 José Madiedo Ph.D. (ABD) María Barbón
27 Gorka Maiztegui Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
28 Gina Malagold Ph.D.
29 Deliabridget Martínez Ph.D. (ABD) Alberto Ameal-Perez
30 Isaac McAlister M.A. Meghan Armstrong
31 Paulina Mejías M.A. Albert Lloret
32 Irene Mele Ballesteros Ph.D. Barbara Zecchi
33 José Méndez M.A. Luis Marentes
34 Dana Monsein Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
35 Abril Navarro Ph.D. Luiz Amaral
36 Jon Nelson Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
37 Pilar Osorio Ph.D.
38 Claudia Marcela Paez Lotero Ph.D. Luis Marentes
39 Elisabet Pallas M.A. Barbara Zecchi
40 Eva Paris-Huesca Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
41 Nicholas Pezzote Ph.D. Margara Russotto
42 Bridget Pinsonneault Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
43 Maribel Rams Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
44 Jayne Reino Ph.D. Luis Marentes
45 Aida Roldan Ph.D. Alberto Ameal-Perez
46 Covadonga Sanchez Ph.D. Luiz Amaral
47 Carmen Santamaría Oviedo Exchange Luiz Amaral
48 Robert Silveri Ph.D. (ABD) Margara Russotto
49 Antonio Terrón Barroso Ph.D. Luiz Amaral
50 Giseli Tordin Ph.D. (ABD) Albert Lloret
51 María Turrero Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
52 Gladys Vasquez Ph.D. (ABD) Luis Marentes
53 Javier Venturi Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
54 Santiago Vidales Ph.D. Luis Marentes
Click here to see a list of previous graduate students.


Who should I contact in Spanish in Portuguese?


Person
You should contact this person if you want information about ...
Staff members General questions about the Spanish, Portuguese, and Catalan programs
Luiz Amaral The Spanish and Portuguese Unit (Program Director)
Mary Ellen White Maynard Undergraduate classes and course schedule
Carole Cloutier Spanish language classes (100 and 200 levels), Spanish language placement.
M.A.T. and STEP programs.
Barbara Zecchi M.A. and Ph.D programs (Graduate Program Director)
Luis Marentes Undergraduate Program Director
Francisco Fagundes Honors Program
Guillem Molla Catalan Minor
Emma Rivera Rábago Spanish Minor
José Ornelas Spanish Major - class of 2014
Luis Marentes Spanish Major - class of 2015
Albert Lloret Spanish Major - class of 2016
Meghan Armstrong Spanish Major - class of 2017
José Ornelas Spanish Major - class of 2018
José Ornelas Portuguese Major and Minor
Website Maintenance Questions or concerns about the Spanish & Portuguese Unit Website

 

[top]