Skip Navigation
UMass Amherst Back to LLC Site

Spanish and Portuguese, Deparment of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

People

Faculty

Luiz Amaral
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director
Office: Herter 404
Phone: (413) 545-4790
E-mail: amaral @ spanport.umass.edu
Alberto Ameal Perez
Assistant Professor
Spanish Minor Advisor (A-I)
Office: Herter 417
Phone: (413) 545-4909
E-mail: ajamealp@spanport.umass.edu
Meghan Armstrong
Assistant Professor
Office: Herter 419
Phone: (413) 545-4910
E-mail: armstrong @ spanport.umass.edu
Carole Cloutier
Spanish Language Program Director
Spanish Minor Advising (J-Q)
Office: Herter 408
Phone: (413) 545-4916
E-mail: cloutier@spanport.umass.edu
Francisco Cota Fagundes
Professor
Portuguese Language Coordinator
Portuguese Placement/Exemption Exams
Office: Herter 406
Phone: (413) 545-4914
E-mail: fagundes@spanport.umass.edu
Patricia Gubitosi
Associate Professor
On Leave Spring 2014
Office: Herter 423
Phone: (413) 545-4917
E-mail: gubitosi@spanport.umass.edu
Albert Lloret
Assistant Professor
Spanish Major Advisor (class 2016)
Office: Herter 433
Phone: (413) 577-4723
E-mail: lloret@spanport.umass.edu
Luis A. Marentes
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Program Director
Spanish Major Advisor (class 2015)
Spanish Native Exemption Test
Office: Herter 425
Phone: (413) 545-4923
E-mail: marentes@spanport.umass.edu
Guillem Molla
Catalan Language Program Director
Office: Herter 421
Phone: (413) 545-2044
E-mail: gmolla@spanport.umass.edu
Jose N. Ornelas
Professor
Portuguese Major/Minor Advisor
Spanish Major Advisor (class 2014)
Office: Herter 422
Phone: (413) 545-4921
E-mail: ornelas@spanport.umass.edu
Daphne Patai
Professor
Office: Herter 402
Phone: (413) 545 4922
E-mail: daphne.patai@spanport.umass.edu
Emma Rivera-Rábago
Senior Lecturer
Spanish Major Advisor (class 2013 & 2017)
Office: Herter 407
E-mail: rivera@spanport.umass.edu
Margara Russotto
Associate Professor
Spanish Minor Advising (R-Z)
Office: Herter 426
Phone: (413) 545-4924
E-mail: margheri@spanport.umass.edu
Barbara Zecchi
Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese Director
Office: Herter 414
Phone: (413) 545-2887
E-mail: bzecchi@spanport.umass.edu

Current Visiting Faculty

Roberto Márquez
Fall 2014
Professor Emeritus
Mount Holyoke College
Office: TBA
E-mail: TBA
Diogenes Costa Curras
Fall 2014
Professor
University of Michigan
Office: TBA
E-mail: TBA
Click here for a complete list of Visiting Faculty.

Staff

Leah Dodson
Office Manager/Graduate Program
Office: Herter 416
Phone: (413) 545-0544
E-mail: ldodson@spanport.umass.edu
Mary Ellen White Maynard
Undergraduate Program
Office: Herter 418
Phone: (413) 545-2807
E-mail: maynard@german.umass.edu

Teaching Assistants/Associates

Name:
Office:
Email:
Susana Antunes Hampshire 221 susana@spanport.umass.edu
Diego Ardura Hampshire 221 dardurag@acad.umass.edu
Alba Arias Hampshire 215 aariasalvare@spanport.umass.edu
Albert Asunción Hampshire 217 aasuncionben@spanport.umass.edu
Sheryl Bernardo Hampshire 217 sabernar@spanport.umass.edu
Christina M. Beaubien Hampshire 217 cbeaubie@spanport.umass.edu
Danielle Bovee Hampshire 219 dbovee@spanport.umass.edu
Pau Canigueral Hampshire 221 pcanigueralb@spanport.umass.edu
Molly Cole Hampshire 221 mollycole@spanport.umass.edu
Gloria Cuesta Hampshire 215 gcuestagonza@acad.umass.edu
Rossano Dalla Valle Hampshire 209 rdallava@spanport.umass.edu
Fiona Dixon Hampshire 221 fddixon@spanport.umass.edu
Lucia Donatelli Hampshire 219 ldonatel@spanport.umass.edu
Andie Faber Hampshire 219 afaber@spanport.umass.edu
Diana Fiori Hampshire 209 dfiori@spanport.umass.edu
Borja Gama de Cossío Hampshire 209 bgamadec@acad.umass.edu
Eduardo García-Fernández Hampshire 221 egarciaferna@acad.umass.edu
Ramiro Garcia-Olano Hampshrie 209 rgarciae@spanport.umass.edu
Odalis Patricia Hidalgo Hampshire 215 ohidalgo@spanport.umass.edu
Natalia Jardon Hampshire 221 njardonperez@acad.umass.edu
Gorka Maiztegui Hampshire 215 gmaizteg@spanport.umass.edu
Irene Melé Ballesteros Hampshire 217 imelebal@spanport.umass.edu
Deliabridget Martinez Hampshire 209 dmartinez@spanport.umass.edu
Dolores Juan Moreno Hampshire 219 djuanmoreno@spanport.umass.edu
Jon Nelson Hampshire 217 jsnelson@spanport.umass.edu
Claudia Paez Lotero Hampshire 219 cpaezlot@spanport.umass.edu
Elisabet Pallas Hampshire 221 epallas@spanport.umass.edu
Maribel Rams Hampshire 209 malbuise@spanport.umass.edu
Aida Roldan Hampshire 209 aroldangarci@spanport.umass.edu
Giseli Cristina Tordin Hampshire 217 gtordin@spanport.umass.edu
Covadonga Sanchez Hampshire 219 sancheza@spanport.umass.edu
Maria Turrero-Garcia Hampshire 209 mturrero@acad.umass.edu
Santiago Vidales Hampshire 219 svidales@spanport.umass.edu

Current Graduate Students

#
Name
Program
Adviser
1 Susana Antunes Ph.D. Francisco Fagundes
2 Diego Ardura M.A. Luiz Amaral
3 Alba Arias M.A. Patricia Gubitosi
4 Albert Asunción M.A. Barbara Zecchi
5 Sonia Battle Ph.D. Luis Marentes
6 Christina Beaubien Ph.D. Barbara Zecchi
7 Amy Beresky M.A. Patricia Gubitosi
8 Sheryl Bernardo Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi
9 Danielle Bovee M.A. Albert Lloret
10 Pau Canigueral Ph.D. Albert Lloret
11 Esther Castro-Cuenca Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
12 Molly Cole M.A. Luiz Amaral
13 Carmen Cosme Ph.D. (ABD) José Ornelas
14 Gloria Cuesta M.A. Margara Russotto
15 Flavia Cunha Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi
16 Rossano Dalla Valle Ph.D. Albert Lloret
17 Judy de Oliveira Ph.D. (ABD) Patricia Gubitosi
18 Fiona Dixon Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi & Meghan Armstrong
19 Lucia Donatelli M.A. Luiz Amaral
20 Andie Faber Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
21 José Figueiredo Ph.D. Francisco Fagundes
22 Diana Fiori Ph.D. Luiz Amaral
23 Borja Gama de Cossío Ph.D. Albert Lloret
24 Eduardo García-Fernández Oviedo Exchange Luiz Amaral
25 Ramiro Garcia-Olano Ph.D. (ABD) Alberto Ameal-Perez
26 Odalis Hidalgo Ph.D. Luis Marentes
27 Natalia Jardon Oviedo Exchange Luiz Amaral
28 Dolores Juan Moreno Ph.D. Barbara Zecchi
29 José Madiedo Ph.D. (ABD) María Barbón
30 Gorka Maiztegui Ph.D. Barbara Zecchi
31 Deliabridget Martínez Ph.D. (ABD) Alberto Ameal-Perez
32 Fran Meizoso Ph.D. (ABD) Eduardo Negueruela
33 Paulina Mejías M.A. Albert Lloret
34 Irene Mele Ballesteros Ph.D. Barbara Zecchi
35 José Méndez M.A. Luis Marentes
36 Dana Monsein Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
37 Jon Nelson Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
38 Claudia Marcela Paez Lotero Ph.D. Alberto Ameal-Perez
39 Elisabet Pallas M.A. Barbara Zecchi
40 Eva Paris-Huesca Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
41 Bridget Pinsonneault Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
42 Maribel Rams Ph.D. Barbara Zecchi
43 Jayne Reino Ph.D. Luis Marentes
44 Aida Roldan Ph.D. Alberto Ameal-Perez
45 Ana Rona Ph.D. (ABD) Patricia Gubitosi
46 Covadonga Sanchez Ph.D. Luiz Amaral
47 Robert Silveri Ph.D. (ABD) Margara Russotto
48 Giseli Tordin Ph.D. (ABD) Albert Lloret
49 María Turrero Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
50 Gladys Vasquez Ph.D. (ABD) Luis Marentes
51 Javier Venturi Ph.D.(ABD) Barbara Zecchi
52 Santiago Vidales M.A. Luis Marentes
Click here to see a list of previous graduate students.

Who should I contact in Spanish in Portuguese?


Person
You should contact this person if you want information about ...
Leah Dodson Graduate Program, financial matters, faculty requests, etc.
Mary Ellen White Maynard Undergraduate classes and course schedule
Carole Cloutier Spanish language classes (100 and 200 levels), Spanish language placement.
M.A.T. and STEP programs.
Luiz Amaral M.A. and Ph.D programs (Graduate Program Director)
Luis Marentes Undergraduate Program Director
Guillem Molla Catalan language and culture
Alberto Ameal-Pérez Spanish Minor: Last Name from A-I
Carole Cloutier Spanish Minor: Last Name from J-Q
Margara Russotto Spanish Minor: Last Name from R-Z
Emma Rivera-Rábago Spanish Major - class of 2013
José Ornelas Spanish Major - class of 2014
Luis Marentes Spanish Major - class of 2015
Albert Lloret Spanish Major - class of 2016
Emma Rivera-Rábago Spanish Major - class of 2017
José Ornelas Portuguese Major and Minor
Barbara Zecchi The Spanish and Portuguese unit (Program Director)

 

[top]