Skip Navigation
UMass Amherst Back to LLC Site

Spanish and Portuguese, Deparment of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

People

Faculty

Luiz Amaral
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director
Office: Herter 404
Phone: (413) 545-4790
E-mail: amaral @ spanport.umass.edu
Alberto Ameal Perez
Assistant Professor
Spanish Minor Advisor (A-M)
Office: Herter 417
Phone: (413) 545-4909
E-mail: ajamealp@spanport.umass.edu
Meghan Armstrong
Assistant Professor
Spanish Major Advisor (class 2017)
Office: Herter 419
Phone: (413) 545-4910
E-mail: armstrong @ spanport.umass.edu
Carole Cloutier
Spanish Language Program Director
Spanish Language Placement Exam
Salamanca Study Abroad
Office: Herter 408
Phone: (413) 545-4916
E-mail: cloutier@spanport.umass.edu
Francisco Cota Fagundes
Professor
Portuguese Language Coordinator
Portuguese Placement/Exemption Exams
Honors Program Director
Office: Herter 406
Phone: (413) 545-4914
E-mail: fagundes@spanport.umass.edu
Patricia Gubitosi
Associate Professor
Buenos Aires Study Abroad
Office: Herter 423
Phone: (413) 545-4917
E-mail: gubitosi@spanport.umass.edu
Albert Lloret
Assistant Professor
Spanish Major Advisor (class 2016)
Catalan Minor Advisor
Oviedo Study Abroad
Office: Herter 433
Phone: (413) 577-4723
E-mail: lloret@spanport.umass.edu
Luis A. Marentes
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Program Director
Spanish Major Advisor (class 2015)
Spanish Native Exemption Test
Office: Herter 425
Phone: (413) 545-4923
E-mail: marentes@spanport.umass.edu
Guillem Molla
Catalan Language Program Director
Catalan Minor Advisor
Office: Herter 421
Phone: (413) 545-2044
E-mail: gmolla@spanport.umass.edu
Jose N. Ornelas
Professor
Portuguese Major/Minor Advisor
Spanish Major Advisor (class 2014 & 2018)
Office: Herter 422
Phone: (413) 545-4921
E-mail: ornelas@spanport.umass.edu
Daphne Patai
Professor
Office: Herter 402
Phone: (413) 545 4922
E-mail: daphne.patai@spanport.umass.edu
Emma Rivera-Rábago
Senior Lecturer
Spanish Minor Advisor (N-Z)
Office: Herter 407
E-mail: rivera@spanport.umass.edu
Margara Russotto
Associate Professor
Office: Herter 426
Phone: (413) 545-4924
E-mail: margheri@spanport.umass.edu
Barbara Zecchi
Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese Director
Granada Study Abroad
Office: Herter 414
Phone: (413) 545-2887
E-mail: bzecchi@spanport.umass.edu

Current Visiting Faculty

Roberto Márquez
Fall 2014
Professor Emeritus
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Herter 426
E-mail: rmarquez@spanport.umass.edu
Diogenes Costa Curras
Fall 2014
Lecturer
University of Michigan
Office: Herter 516
E-mail: dcostacurras@umass.edu
Camila Carvalho
Fall 2014
Lecturer
Office: Herter 403
E-mail: ccarvalho@spanport.umass.edu
Idoia Martinez del Mozo
Fall 2014
Office: Herter 403
E-mail: idoiam@spanport.umass.edu
Carlos Molina-Vital
Fall 2014
Office: Herter 417
Email: cmolinavita@spanport.umass.edu
Click here for a complete list of Visiting Faculty.

Staff

Leah Dodson
Office Manager/Graduate Program
Office: Herter 416
Phone: (413) 545-0544
E-mail: ldodson@spanport.umass.edu
Mary Ellen White Maynard
Undergraduate Program
Office: Herter 418
Phone: (413) 545-2807
E-mail: maynard@german.umass.edu

Teaching Assistants/Associates

Name:
Office:
Email:
Ana Alonso Hampshire 221 aalonso@umass.edu
Susana Antunes Hampshire 221 susana@spanport.umass.edu
Alba Arias Hampshire 215 aariasalvare@spanport.umass.edu
Albert Asunción Hampshire 217 aasuncionben@spanport.umass.edu
Sheryl Bernardo Hampshire 217 sabernar@spanport.umass.edu
Christina M. Beaubien Hampshire 217 cbeaubie@spanport.umass.edu
Danielle Bovee Hampshire 219 dbovee@spanport.umass.edu
Pau Canigueral Hampshire 221 pcanigueralb@spanport.umass.edu
Molly Cole Hampshire 221 mollycole@spanport.umass.edu
Gloria Cuesta Hampshire 215 gcuestagonza@acad.umass.edu
Rossano Dalla Valle Hampshire 209 rdallava@spanport.umass.edu
Fiona Dixon Hampshire 221 fddixon@spanport.umass.edu
Andie Faber Hampshire 219 afaber@spanport.umass.edu
Agnieszka Gabor Hampshire 219 agabor@umass.edu
Borja Gama de Cossío Hampshire 209 bgamadec@acad.umass.edu
Eduardo García-Fernández Hampshire 221 egarciaferna@acad.umass.edu
Odalis Patricia Hidalgo Hampshire 215 ohidalgo@spanport.umass.edu
Gina Malagold Hampshire 215 gmalagold@umass.edu
Gorka Maiztegui Hampshire 215 gmaizteg@spanport.umass.edu
Irene Melé Ballesteros Hampshire 217 imelebal@spanport.umass.edu
Deliabridget Martinez Hampshire 209 dmartinez@spanport.umass.edu
Isaac McAlister Hampshire 217 imcalister@umass.edu
Dolores Juan Moreno Hampshire 219 djuanmoreno@spanport.umass.edu
Pilar Osorio Hampshire 209 mdosorio@umass.edu
Jaime Ovejero Hampshire 217 jovejerorodr@umass.edu
Claudia Paez Lotero Hampshire 219 cpaezlot@spanport.umass.edu
Elisabet Pallas Hampshire 221 epallas@spanport.umass.edu
Maribel Rams Hampshire 209 malbuise@spanport.umass.edu
Aida Roldan Hampshire 209 aroldangarci@spanport.umass.edu
Giseli Cristina Tordin Hampshire 217 gtordin@spanport.umass.edu
Covadonga Sanchez Hampshire 219 sancheza@spanport.umass.edu
Carmen Santamaría Hampshire 217 csantamarias@umass.edu
Antonio Terrón Barroso Hampshire 217 aterronbarro@umass.edu
Maria Turrero-Garcia Hampshire 209 mturrero@acad.umass.edu
Santiago Vidales Hampshire 219 svidales@spanport.umass.edu

Current Graduate Students

#
Name
Program
Adviser
1 Ana Alonso M.A.
2 Susana Antunes Ph.D. Francisco Fagundes
3 Alba Arias Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi
4 Albert Asunción M.A. Barbara Zecchi
5 Sonia Battle Ph.D. Luis Marentes
6 Christina Beaubien Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
7 Amy Beresky M.A. Patricia Gubitosi
8 Sheryl Bernardo Ph.D. (ABD) Patricia Gubitosi
9 Danielle Bovee M.A. Albert Lloret
10 Pau Canigueral Ph.D. Albert Lloret
11 Esther Castro-Cuenca Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
12 Molly Cole M.A. Luiz Amaral
13 Carmen Cosme Ph.D. (ABD) José Ornelas
14 Gloria Cuesta M.A. Margara Russotto
15 Flavia Cunha Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi
16 Rossano Dalla Valle Ph.D. (ABD) Albert Lloret
17 Judy de Oliveira Ph.D. (ABD) Patricia Gubitosi
18 Fiona Dixon Ph.D. Patricia Gubitosi & Meghan Armstrong
19 Andie Faber Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
20 José Figueiredo Ph.D. Francisco Fagundes
21 Diana Fiori Ph.D. Luiz Amaral
22 Agnieszka Gabor M.A. Daphne Patai
23 Borja Gama de Cossío Ph.D. (ABD) Albert Lloret
24 Eduardo García-Fernández M.A. Luiz Amaral
25 Ramiro Garcia-Olano Ph.D. (ABD) Alberto Ameal-Perez
26 Odalis Hidalgo Ph.D. Luis Marentes
27 Dolores Juan Moreno Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
28 José Madiedo Ph.D. (ABD) María Barbón
29 Gorka Maiztegui Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
30 Gina Malagold Ph.D.
31 Deliabridget Martínez Ph.D. (ABD) Alberto Ameal-Perez
32 Isaac McAlister M.A.
33 Fran Meizoso Ph.D. (ABD) Eduardo Negueruela
34 Paulina Mejías M.A. Albert Lloret
35 Irene Mele Ballesteros Ph.D. Barbara Zecchi
36 José Méndez M.A. Luis Marentes
37 Dana Monsein Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
38 Jon Nelson Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
39 Pilar Osorio Ph.D.
40 Jaime Ovejero Oviedo Exchange Luiz Amaral
41 Claudia Marcela Paez Lotero Ph.D. Alberto Ameal-Perez
42 Elisabet Pallas M.A. Barbara Zecchi
43 Eva Paris-Huesca Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
44 Nicholas Pezzote Ph.D. Alberto Ameal-Perez
45 Bridget Pinsonneault Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
46 Maribel Rams Ph.D. Barbara Zecchi
47 Jayne Reino Ph.D. Luis Marentes
48 Aida Roldan Ph.D. Alberto Ameal-Perez
49 Ana Rona Ph.D. (ABD) Patricia Gubitosi
50 Covadonga Sanchez Ph.D. Luiz Amaral
51 Carmen Santamaría Oviedo Exchange Luiz Amaral
52 Robert Silveri Ph.D. (ABD) Margara Russotto
53 Antonio Terrón Barroso Granada Exchange Luiz Amaral
54 Giseli Tordin Ph.D. (ABD) Albert Lloret
55 María Turrero Ph.D. (ABD) Luiz Amaral
56 Gladys Vasquez Ph.D. (ABD) Luis Marentes
57 Javier Venturi Ph.D. (ABD) Barbara Zecchi
58 Santiago Vidales M.A. Luis Marentes
Click here to see a list of previous graduate students.

Who should I contact in Spanish in Portuguese?


Person
You should contact this person if you want information about ...
Leah Dodson Graduate Program, financial matters, faculty requests, etc.
Mary Ellen White Maynard Undergraduate classes and course schedule
Carole Cloutier Spanish language classes (100 and 200 levels), Spanish language placement.
M.A.T. and STEP programs.
Luiz Amaral M.A. and Ph.D programs (Graduate Program Director)
Luis Marentes Undergraduate Program Director
Francisco Fagundes Honors Program
Guillem Molla Catalan Minor
Albert Lloret Catalan Minor
Alberto Ameal-Pérez Spanish Minor: Last Name from A-M
Emma Rivera Rábago Spanish Minor: Last Name from N-Z
José Ornelas Spanish Major - class of 2014
Luis Marentes Spanish Major - class of 2015
Albert Lloret Spanish Major - class of 2016
Meghan Armstrong Spanish Major - class of 2017
José Ornelas Spanish Major - class of 2018
José Ornelas Portuguese Major and Minor
Barbara Zecchi The Spanish and Portuguese Unit (Program Director)
Website Maintenance Questions or concerns about the Spanish & Portuguese Unit Website

 

[top]