University of Massachusetts Amherst

Department of Sociology



2013 Award Recipients

Fifty Years ago C. Wright Mills wrote that
those who acquire the sociological imagination
"come to feel as if suddenly awakened. . .
They acquire a new way of thinking."

University Awards

  • William F. Field Alumni Scholarship:
    Amy Luskin
  • Career Services Furcolo Internship Award for Public Service:
    Ryan Kennedy
  • Phi Beta Kappa:
    Jennifer Curtin, Odessa Burkett, Kara Finlay, Lucina Fox

Departmental Honors Seniors

  • Jennifer Curtin
    Beauty Over Brains: Aesthetic Labor of Employees in Clothing Retail Stores
    Committee members: Dr. Joya Misra and Kyla Walters
  • Molly Conneely
    Domestic Violence: The Legal Structure for Victims
    Committee members: Dr. Eve Weinbaum and Dr. Joyce Berkman (History)
  • Kaitlyn Humphrey
    Professional Identities of Prosecuting Attorneys
    Committee members: Steve Boutcher and Rob Faulkner
Sociology Undergraduates

Sociology Awards

Sociology Best Paper Award

The Sociology Department Best Paper Award is given to one or more sociology majors who produces an exceptional paper, exam, or written product in a sociology course, independent study, as a thesis, or for any other substantial sociological writing.

  • Victoria Alessi
    for The Effect of No Child Left Behind on Urban Schools
  • Rachel Tripp
    for Sociological Theories as Illustrated by the Semi-Disastrous

Henry Korson Best Senior(s) Award

The Sociology Department Best Senior Award is granted to one or more outstanding senior sociology majors based on departmental nominations and references.

  • Heather Wood
  • Kaitlyn Humphrey

Henry Korson Best Junior Award

The Sociology Department Best Junior Award is granted to one outstanding junior sociology major based on departmental nominations and references.

  • Chantal Newkirk

David S. Leiderman Award

The Sociology Department Leiderman Award is given to one or more outstanding senior sociology majors with a commitment to improving the lives of children and families.

  • Ashley Boudrow
  • Grace Bricker

Jane Addams Sociology in Practice Award

The Sociology in Practice Award recognizes one or more sociology majors who have proven their ability to apply sociological ideas and insights to pressing social problems.

  • Kelly Smith
  • Bo-Ryung Hwang

C. Wright Mills Award for Sociological Imagination

Awarded to one Sociology Major who best illustrates how sociology has had an influence on their life by changing the way they think about social issues.


W.E.B. Du Bois Outstanding Sociological Achievement Award

Awarded to sociology majors who have achieved distinction in any of a variety of ways. This might be through consistently high performance in courses, or by overcoming obstacles, or for outstanding class participation, or for involvement in the community, or for any of a variety of other forms of accomplishment. The award winners receive a one-year subscription to the American Sociological Association journal, Contexts.

Michelle Aghiarian
Patricia Aguinaldo
Stephanie Argueta
Odessa Burkett
Larosey Burrill
Jennifer Curtin
Nicole Donahue
N Kara Finlay
Lucina Fox
Christine Galletta
Nicole Gelinas
Samuel Hicks
Margaret Hislop
Cassie Jeon
David Koenig
Exequiel Leyva
Casey Lowell
Amy Luskin
Patricia Martin
Lizbeth Monaghan
Anya-Lauren Pierre-Louis
Giovanna Randazzo
Luis Soto
Alan Momperousse
Zachary Wilmot
Viktoria Zupkofska

Download PDF Download PDF


Department of Sociology • Thompson Hall • University of Massachusetts–Amherst, MA 01003