Faculty Senate UMass Amherst seal
Photo of Old Chapel

Status of Diversity Council

Co-Chairs: Ernest Washington
Mzamo Mangaliso

Membership List


Annual Reports:



The Status of Diversity Council will meet on the following dates during the 2013-2014 academic year:

October 7
November 4
December 9
February 3
March 3
April 7
May 5

All meetings will start at 12 noon in the Campus Center, Room 804-08.

Report of the Status of Diversity Council on the Proposal to Change Tenure Standards

Special Report of the Ad Hoc Committee on Admissions Practices and Minority Recruitment
concerning the Recruitment of ALANA Undergraduates
Faculty Senate Document No. 02-012

Affirmative Action Plans for the Amherst, Boston, Dartmouth, and Lowell campuses
presented at the Board of Trustees meeting on February 15, 2006.

The Status of Diversity Council shall make recommendations on all matters affecting the status of
diverse populations and underrepresented communities on the campus, including such matters as
faculty, librarian and staff recruitment, retention, promotion and salaries, the recruitment, admission
and retention of undergraduate and graduate minority students, granting of financial aid, and the
development of programs to reflect the needs of our diverse community.

Its membership shall be:
(a) Thirteen Faculty Members, including one from each School/College headed by a Dean, selected at
      large (priority should be given to members of School/College Committees on the status of diversity),
      and one Member of the Library;
(b) One representative from the Massachusetts Society of Professors, selected by the
      Massachusetts Society of Professors;
(c) The Provost or a designee, serving ex officio;
(d) The Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance or a designee, serving ex officio;
(e) The Associate Chancellor for Equal Opportunity and Diversity or a designee, serving
      ex officio;
(f) The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Campus Life or a designee, serving ex officio;
(g) The Director of the Fine Arts Center, serving ex officio;
(h)The Secretary of the Faculty Senate or a designee, serving ex officio, non-voting;
(i) Two Members of the non-professional staff selected by the appropriate unions;
(j) One Member of the professional staff chosen by the Professional Staff Union (PSU);
(k) Four Graduate Students; and
(l) Five Undergraduate Students.

From Chapter 5 Section 15 of the Faculty Senate Bylaws





Academic Matters
Academic Priorities
Campus Physical Planning
General Education
International Studies
Program and Budget
Research Library
Status of Diversity
Status of Women
Student Affairs and University Life
Undergraduate Education
University Relations and Advancement
University Service, Public Service and Outreach


Admissions and Records
Committee on Committees
University Computer and Electronic Communications
University Press
University Writing

Ad Hoc Committees