Faculty Senate UMass Amherst seal
Photo of Old Chapel

Commonwealth Honors College Council - Membership List

Chair: Julian Tyson

Members (Representing: Name (Department), Term Expiration):

College of Engineering:
James Rinderle (Mech./Indus. Engr.), 2014 S

College of Humanities and Fine Arts:
John Higginson (History), 2014 S
Don Levine (Comp. Literature), 2014 S
Doris Bargen (LLC), 2015 F

College of Natural Sciences:
Kimberly Tremblay (Vet/Animal Science), 2014 S
Julian Tyson, Chair (Chemistry), 2014 S
Richard Bogartz (Psychology), 2014 S

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences:
Diane Flaherty (Economics), 2014 S
Nicholas Mcbride (Journalism), 2014 S

Isenberg School of Management:
Pamela Trafford (ISOM), 2016 S

School of Education:
Howard Peelle (TECS), 2014 F

School of Nursing:
Emma Dundon (Nursing), 2015 S

School of Public Health and Health Sciences:
Gloria DiFulvio (Public Health), 2016 S

Sarah Hutton (Library), 2014 S

Chair of the Academic Matters Council or designee (E):
Meredith Lind

Chair of the General Education Council or designee (E):
Alexandrina Deschamps

Chair of the Research Council or designee (E):

Chair of the Undergraduate Education Council or designee (E):
Rajesh Bhatt

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Campus Life or designee (E):
Eddie Hull

Provost or designee (E):
Carol Barr

Dean of the Commonwealth Honors College:
Dan Gordon

Associate Dean of the Commonwealth Honors College:
Dan Gordon

Director of National Scholarship Advisement (E):
Susan Krauss Whitbourne

University Registrar or designee (E), non-voting:
John Lenzi

Secretary of the Faculty Senate or designee (E):
Ernest May

One Representative from Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke or Smith Colleges, designated by Five Colleges, Inc.:
Neal Abraham/Nate Therien

Chair of the Commonwealth Honors College Student Advisory Board or designee (Appointed by the Dean of CHC):

Member of the Commonwealth Honors College Student Advisory Board or designee (Appointed by the Dean of CHC):

One Undergraduate Student (Appointed by SGA):
Renee Barouxis

One Undergraduate Student (Appointed by the Chair of the CHC Council):
LeeAnn Monteverde






Academic Matters
Academic Priorities
Campus Physical Planning
Commonwealth Honors College
General Education
International Studies
Program and Budget
Research Library
Status of Diversity
Status of Women
Student Affairs and University Life
Undergraduate Education
University Relations and Advancement
University Service, Public Service and Outreach


Admissions and Records
Committee on Committees
University Computer and Electronic Communications
University Press
University Writing

Ad Hoc Committees