Faculty Senate UMass Amherst seal
Photo of Old Chapel

Athletic Council

Co-Chairs: Nelson Lacey
                 Tracy Schoenadel

Membership List


List of Athletic Council Subcommittees and Current Members

Annual Reports:
--Athletic Deptartment Financial Overview FY11 - FY12


For a complete copy of the Annual Report, please contact the Faculty Senate office.

The Athletic Council will meet on the following dates during the Spring 2014 semester:

January 31
February 28
March 28
April 25

All meetings will take place at 11:30 a.m. in the Recreation Center Conference Room.

Athletic Department Strategic Plan for 2010-2015
--Athletic Department Financial Overview FY11 - FY12

The Athletic Council shall implement the “Statement of Athletic Policy” adopted by the Board of
Trustees on February 14, 1957, and any resolution which the Board may adopt thereafter.
Consistent with present policies on admissions and academic standards, the Intercollegiate
Athletic Program shall be developed to a point where it is representative of the best efforts of the
University, with aims and ideals of achievement comparable to those expected of the academic
departments. This development shall proceed in accord with policies and regulations of the
National Collegiate Athletic Association, and all athletic conferences in which the University
maintains membership. The Intramural Athletic Program shall be staffed and equipped to meet the
needs of all students who desire to participate, and the University shall encourage participation
through a varied program including sports with carry-over value for life after graduation. All
athletic accounts shall be open to review by the President of the Student Government Association
or a designee. This Council shall submit an annual report both to the Faculty Senate and the
Student Government Association, which shall include a detailed breakdown of all athletic program

Its membership shall be:
(a) Eleven Members of the Faculty and Professional Staff, three of whom shall be alumni
     selected by the Associate Alumni for three-year terms. The other eight shall be Faculty
     Members or Librarians selected at large, nominated by the Committee on Committees, and
     approved by the Faculty Senate, for three-year terms;
(b) One at-large position for an alumnus/alumna, not necessarily a current member of the faculty
      or staff, to be appointed by the Associate Alumni for a three-year term;
(c) The Director of Athletics, serving ex officio, without vote;
(d) The Vice Chancellor for University Advancement or a designee, serving ex officio
(e) The Director of the Alumni Association, serving ex officio;
(f) A Faculty Member appointed by the Chancellor as the University Faculty NCAA
(g) The Secretary of the Faculty Senate or a designee, serving ex officio, non-voting;
(h) The President of the Graduate Student Senate or a designee, serving ex officio;
(i) The President of the Student Government Association or a designee, serving ex officio; and
(j)  Six undergraduate students to be chosen for two-year terms. No team shall be represented
      by more than one participant.

From Chapter 5 Section 4 of the Faculty Senate Bylaws





Academic Matters
Academic Priorities
Campus Physical Planning
General Education
International Studies
Program and Budget
Research Library
Status of Diversity
Status of Women
Student Affairs and University Life
Undergraduate Education
University Relations and Advancement
University Service, Public Service and Outreach


Admissions and Records
Committee on Committees
University Computer and Electronic Communications
University Press
University Writing

Ad Hoc Committees