Academic Priorities Council

Chair: Richard Bogartz (




College Budget Councils

The Academic Priorities Council will meet on the following dates during the 2019-2020 academic year:

Fall Semester
September 19
October 24 (This meeting will be held in Whitmore 370)
November 21
December 19

Spring Semester
February 27
March 26
April 16 (This meeting will be held in Campus Center 803)
May 21

All meetings will begin at 3:00 p.m. and take place in the Campus Center Room 903 unless otherwise indicated.

AQAD Procedures and Schedule

AQAD Summaries 

The Academic Priorities Council shall:
(a) Provide advice to the Administration on all matters of academic planning and priority;
(b) Provide advice to the Administration relating to the growth, stabilization, reduction, merger and closure of academic programs;
(c) Review, at the request of the Administration, long-range plans involving changes in academic priorities;
(d) Review all proposals for new programs.  Since the concept of priority includes competition for resources, the Council’s review may include an assessment of the priority of the proposed new program in relation to existing programs with which the new program will compete; and
(e) Review AQAD Reports.

Its membership shall be:
(a) Fifteen Faculty Members, including one from each School/College headed by a Dean and one Librarian selected at large;
(b) A Representative from the Commonwealth Honors College Council, appointed by the Chair of the Commonwealth Honors College Council;
(c) The Associate Chancellor and Chief Planning Officer, serving ex officio;
(d) A Representative of the Massachusetts Society of Professors;
(e)The Provost or a designee, serving ex officio;
(f) The Chairperson of the Academic Matters Council or a designee, serving ex officio;
(g) The Chairperson of the Program and Budget Council or a designee, serving ex officio;
(h) The Chairperson of the Graduate Council or a designee, serving ex officio;
(i) The Secretary of the Faculty Senate or a designee, serving ex officio, non-voting;
(j) One Graduate Student; and
(k) Two Undergraduate Students.

From Chapter 5 Section 3 of the Faculty Senate Bylaws.