Faculty Senate UMass Amherst seal
Photo of Old Chapel

Joint Task Force on Resource Allocation

Co-Chairs: Elizabeth Chilton
                 Timothy Anderson

More information on the Joint Task Force on Resource Allocation, including their schedule, can be found on their Provost's Office website:



The Joint Task Force on Resource Allocation (JTFRA) will organize the campus's consideration of alternative resource allocation models, and make recommendations to the Chancellor for moving forward with any proposed improvements that result from the study.


The Joint Task Force on Resource Allocation will consist of sixteen members, distributed as follows, with a Chair or Co-Chairs appointed by the Chancellor:

The Secretary of the Faculty Senate or designee:
Ernest May

The Chair of the Rules Committee or designee:
MJ Peterson

The Chair of the Academic Priorities Council or designee:
A Yemisi Jimoh

The Chair of the Program and Budget Council or designee:
D. Anthony Butterfield

Five (5) Members of the Faculty, appointed by the Rules Committee:
Laura Briggs
Julie Brigham-Grette
David Evans
Patrick Kelly
Jennifer Normanly

The President of the Student Government Association or designee:
Megan Kingston

The President of the Graduate Student Senate or designee:
Timothy Sutton

The Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance and Budget Director:
Andrew Mangels

The Associate Provost for Academic and Resource Planning:
Bryan Harvey

Two (2) School/College Deans appointed by the Chancellor:
Timothy Anderson, Co-Chair
Mark Fuller

Five (5) Other Members of the Administrative Staff:
Julie Buehler
Mari Castañeda
Stephen Cavanagh
Elizabeth Chilton, Co-Chair
Mike Malone

Co-Chairs of the Joint Task Force on Strategic Oversight:
Nancy Cohen
Amilcar Shabazz

From the Special Report of the Rules Committee concerning the Establishment of an Ad Hoc Committee to be named the Joint Task Force on Resource Allocation (JTFRA), Sen. Doc. No. 14-010B.








Academic Matters
Academic Priorities
Campus Physical Planning
General Education
International Studies
Program and Budget
Research Library
Status of Diversity
Status of Women
Student Affairs and University Life
Undergraduate Education
University Relations and Advancement
University Service, Public Service and Outreach


Admissions and Records
Committee on Committees
University Computer and Electronic Communications
University Press
University Writing

Ad Hoc Committees