Faculty/Staff Profiles

Anna Branch Appointed Faculty Advisor to Chancellor for Diversity and Excellence

Enobong (Anna) Branch, associate professor of sociology and director of diversity advancement for the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, has been appointed as Chancellor Subbaswamy's new faculty advisor for diversity and excellence.

Sibii’s Social Justice Journalism Course Explores Issues of Immigration

Professor Razvan Sibii’s course, Social Justice Journalism, dives deep into one major issue each semester that it is offered, providing students with a profound understanding of the topic at hand.

Sylvia Brandt Featured on NPR's Marketplace

The story discussed a new study about the long-term effects of the London Smog, a five-day event in December of 1952 that killed 4,000 people. The study found that fetuses and children under one year of age were five times more likely to develop asthma.

Dean E. Robinson Named Terrence Murray Commonwealth Honors College Professor

Dean E. Robinson, associate professor of political science at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, has been named the Terrence Murray Commonwealth Honors College Professor. The two-year award was approved by the UMass Board of Trustees on June 15.

Anna Branch Among Four Selected for Women’s Leadership Institutes

Enobong (Anna) Branch, associate professor of sociology and director of diversity advancement for the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, is one of four women to be selected for the Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) Institute.

Donal Carbaugh Named Distinguished Scholar by the National Communication Association

Given annually, the NCA Distinguished Scholar Award is the association’s highest accolade. It honors a lifetime of scholarly achievement in the study of human communication.

Michelle Budig, Sociology, Receives SBS Dean's Research Excellence Award

Michelle Budig, Professor of Sociology, has been awarded the SBS Dean's Research Excellence Award. This award recognizes distinguished achievement in scholarship and research, and recipients are nominated by their peers.

Leila Kawar Awarded the Herbert Jacob Book Prize

Leila Kawar, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Legal Studies, was awarded the Herbert Jacob Book Prize by the Law and Society Association. Kawar's book, Contesting Immigration Policy in Court: Legal Activism and Its Radiating Effects in the United States and France, was chosen from a competitive pool of nominees for 'best book in Law and Society scholarship published in 2015'. She shares the honor with co-winner Ellen Berrey from the University of Denver, author of The Enigma of Diversity: The Language of Race and the Limits of Racial Justice.

Charles Schweik Named SPP Interim Director

Charles (Charlie) Schweik will assume the position of interim director of the School of Public Policy (SPP) at the University of Massachusetts Amherst on June 1, 2016. He succeeds M.V. Lee Badgett, who is stepping down after three successful terms as director.