Dean's Office Staff

Mailing Address:

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Draper Hall
University of Massachusetts Amherst
40 Campus Center Way
Amherst, MA 01003-9244
Tel: 413.545.4173
Fax: 413.577.0905

 

Administrative Contacts

Name Title Office Location Email Phone
John A. Hird Interim Dean 230 Draper Hall jhird@sbs.umass.edu 413.545.7187
Elizabeth Chilton Associate Dean for Research W20 Machmer Hall echilton@sbs.umass.edu 413.545.4354
Mark Lange Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education & Executive Director of the SBS Advising Center 217 Draper Hall mlange@sbs.umass.edu 413.577.0235
Glenn Caffery Director of Instructional Innovation 205D Stockbridge caffery@resecon.umass.edu 413.545.5739
Mari Castañeda Director of Diversity Advancement 311 Machmer Hall mari@comm.umass.edu 413.545.1307
Ray La Raja Director of Program Innovation 330 Thompson Hall laraja@polsci.umass.edu 413.545.6182
Laurel Smith-Doerr Director of the Institute for Social Science Research 34A Machmer Hall lsmithdoerr@soc.umass.edu​ 413.545.3416 
Karen Schoenberger Assistant Dean 229 Draper Hall kschoenberger@sbs.umass.edu 413.545.1753
Tracy Tudryn Assistant to the Deans 231 Draper Hall aspttud@sbs.umass.edu 413.545.4173
Susan McDonough '81 Assistant to the Directors 202 Draper Hall susanmcd@sbs.umass.edu 413.577.1202
Back to Top

Budget & Personnel Contacts

Name Title Office Location Email Phone
Melissa Walsh Budget and Personnel Officer 201 Draper Hall mwalsh@sbs.umass.edu 413.545.4405
Mary Ann Libardi Personnel Officer 201A Draper Hall mlibardi@sbs.umass.edu 413.545.4186
Back to Top

Outreach Contacts

Name Title Office Location Email Phone
Jackie Brousseau-Pereira '00 MPA Director of External Affairs 226 Draper Hall jackie@sbs.umass.edu 413.545.1933
Sabine Haberland Cray Director of Communications and Marketing 221 Draper Hall shcray@sbs.umass.edu 413.545.0694
James Mallet Director of Development 236 Draper Hall jMallet@admin.umass.edu 413.577.1700
Jessica Dizek Associate Director of Development 235 Draper Hall jdizek@admin.umass.edu 413.545.1445
David Perlmutter Associate Director of Development 203 Draper Hall perlmutter@admin.umass.edu 413.545.7184
Back to Top

Student Services Contacts

Name Title Office Location Email Phone
Mark Lange Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education & Executive Director of the SBS Advising Center 128 Thompson Hall mlange@sbs.umass.edu 413.577.1057
Carolyn Bassett Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Advising 128 Thompson Hall cbassett@sbs.umass.edu 413.577.1057
Lea Rice Director of Advising 128 Thompson Hall learice@sbs.umass.edu 413.577.1063
Diane Curtis Director of Pre-Law Advising 122 Thompson Hall dcurtis@polsci.umass.edu 413.577.0396
Valerie Wentzel Coordinator of Global Education Advising 128 Thompson Hall vwentzel@sbs.umass.edu 413.577.1058
Carlos Suárez Advisor 128 Thompson Hall csuarez@sbs.umass.edu 413.577.1057
Rebecca Bell Assistant Director for Career Planning Career Services, Goodell, Rm 511 rlbell@umass.edu 413.545-6268
Back to Top