UMass Athletics Presents: 1st Annual SAMY Student Athlete Awards

AMHERST, MA - The First Annual SAMY Student Athlete Awards were held on Monday, April 28th, at 6:30pm in the Campus Center Auditorium.  

The gala event started with a red carpet entrance and light refreshements prior to the unveiling of the winners of the First Annual SAMY Student Athlete Awards. All the student-athlete awards were voted on by the student-athletes themselves.

Devin Brown from Football won the Male Scholar Athlete Award, and Michaela Butler from Women's Swimming won the Female Scholar Athlete Award as well as the Co-Female Athlete of the Year Award.  Katie Ferris was also a two-time winner with both the Female Athlete of the Year Award and the Dr. James Ralph Athletic Training Award.  Chaz Williams of Men's Basketball won the Male Athlete of the Year Award, and his teammates were also winners of the Team of The Year Award.

Other winners include; Derrick Gordon from Men's Basketball (Male Newcomer of the Year Award), Zack Hildenbrandt from Men's Cross Country and Track (Minuteman Pride Award), Heather MacLean from Women's Cross Country and Track (Female Newcomer of the Year Award), Derek Kellogg, Head Coach - Men's Basketball (Coach of the Year) and Tim Musante from Facilities and Equipment (Staff Member of the Year).

Men's and Women's Cross Country each won the Faculty Athletic Representative Male and Female Team Award, respectively.  Women's Field Hockey won the Show Stopping Moment of the Year.  

Also inducted into Chi Alpha SIgma, the National College Athlete Honor Society, were 25 inductees.  Membership requires a 3.4 cumulative GPA and junior standing.  Maroon Scholars (graduating seniors with above 3.0 cumulative GPA as of December) were presented with their Sashes for graduation.