06/12/2013, 5:00 PM

The University of Massachusetts, Amherst has once again been invited to submit a proposal to the Pew Scholars Program in Biomedical Sciences. We have had recent successful applicants.

This is a limited submission opportunity. There will be an internal selection process as only one nominee per institution is allowed. If you are interested in submitting to this program, please send a pre-proposal to Michelle Wonsey at  by June 12, 2012,with the following:

•             A 1-2 page synopsis of your proposed research. Please include: 1) a statement of why the research is important; 2) a brief description of your most significant research contribution to date, focusing on its creative and risk-taking elements; 3) the aims of your research, including the hypothesis and methods; and 4) your long term goals for the proposed research.    

•             A 2-4 page CV including: 1) Education, 2) Employment, 3) Memberships/Honors/Other experience, 4) Peer Reviewed Publications, and 5) Research Support awarded.

If you have technical questions on the Pew Scholars Program or your eligibility, please contact Linda Sopp in Foundation Relations at



Program Description:

The Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences provides funding to young investigators of outstanding promise in science relevant to the advancement of human health. The program makes grants to selected academic institutions to support the independent research of outstanding individuals who are in their first few years of their appointment at the assistant professor level. The award provides $240,000 in flexible support—$60,000 per year for a four-year period.


  • Candidates must have been awarded a doctorate in biomedical sciences or medicine.
  • As of November 1, 2013, nominees must hold full-time appointments at the rank of assistant professor.
  • On July 1, 2013, candidates must have been in such an appointment for less than three years (not appointed before July 1, 2010), whether or not such an appointment was on a tenure track.
  • Candidates may be nominated by their institution two times in total. ALL applicants must be nominated by their institution and must complete the 2014 online application.
  • If an applicant’s university has more than one eligible nominating institution or campus, that applicant may only apply from one institution; they may not reapply in a subsequent year from a different one.
  • Applicants with committed awards that overlap for the first two years of the Pew Scholars Program from the Searle Scholars Program, Rita Allen Foundation Scholars, Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award for Medical Scientists, Beckman Young Investigator Program, Ellison New Scholar Award, W.M. Keck Foundation, Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award, and the Kimmel Scholar Award are not eligible.

Sponsor Deadline:
November 1, 2013