Herbert Heidelberger was an important member of the department from 1967 to 1982, when he died of cancer. Professor Heidelberger was an inspiring teacher and influential philosopher and colleague who played an important role in contributing to the early quality and reputation of the department.

The Heidelberger Prize is awarded in recognition of outstanding starred papers during an academic year. The prize carries an award of $200, although its main value is the recognition it confers upon a paper as an outstanding piece of philosophical writing.

Any starred paper receiving a grade of PASS may be nominated by a member of the reading committee for that paper. Nominated papers from both semesters are considered by the full faculty, and a unanimous vote is required for awarding the prize.

The prize and associated monetary award may be shared, or not awarded at all. No student may win the prize more than once.

Past Awardees
2016 Patrick Grafton Cardwell “A Solution to the Enigma of Categories"
2015 Cameron Gibbs “Hume’s Dictum”
John Robison “Skepticism About Skepticism About Moral Responsibility”
2014 Pengbo Liu “Higher-Order Thought and Higher-Order Misrepresentation”
Tricia Magalotti “On The Prospects for a Social Defense of Armchair Methods”
2013 Robert Gruber “A Desertist Solution to a Puzzle about Justice”
2012 Julietta Rose “In Bad Company: Fodor's Informational Semantics and Euthyphro's Fallacy”
2011 Casey Knight “Primitive Grounding and Reduced Fundamentality”
2010 Matthew Gifford “Skepticism and Elegance”
2009 Heidi Buetow “Relativism and Ignorant Assessors”
Kristian Olsen “The Imagination Model of Dreaming:  Not the Complete Solution to Dreaming Skepticism”
2008 Kristoffer Ahlstrom

“What Descartes Didn't Know”

2007 Ed Ferrier

“Priority Monism”

Alex Sarch “What’s Wrong with Megalopsychia?”
2006 Jeff Dunn "The Obscure Act of Perception"
2005 Meghan Masto "On Williamson on Evidence and Justification"
Kirk Michaelian "(Aristotle on) What Oedipus did at the Crossroads"
2004 Brad Chynoweth "Descartes' Resolution of the Dreaming Doubt"
2003 Stephan Torre "Identity, Time, and Change in Hume's Treatise"
2002 Brandt Van der Gaast "Supervenience vs. Recombination"
Jason Raibley "An Examination of Perfectionism"
2001 Kris McDaniel "Tropes and Ordinary Physical Objects"
Michael Rubin "Aristotle on Ignorance and Involuntariness"
2000 Marcy Lascano "Incontinence: Does Aquinas Have It?"
Stephen Masterman "Are We Free to Change God's Beliefs?"