Perry Research Group

Current Members

Principal Investigator

Prof. Sarah Perry

Prof. Sarah Perry (she/her)

perrys@engin.umass.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

Adjunct Professor, Department of Polymer Science and Engineering


Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Sonu Kizhakkepura

Dr. Sonu Kizhakkepura (he/him)

skizhakkepur@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for mRNA manufacture.

Dr. Sarthak Saha

Dr. Sarthak Saha (he/him)

ssaha@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for high-throughput protein crystallization, drug discovery, and time-resolved crystallography.


Visiting Scholars

Jussara Alves Penido

Jussara Alves Penido (she/her)

jalvespenido@umass.edu

Protein encapsulation in coacervate-core micelles in organic solvents.

Júlia Bonesso Sabadini

Júlia Bonesso Sabadini (she/her)

jbonessosaba@umass.edu

Protein encapsulation in coacervate-core micelles.


Graduate Students

Bakthavachalam Kannadasan

Bakthavachalam Kannadasan (he/him)

bkannadasan@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for time-resolved protein crystallography.

Khiem Le

Khiem Le (he/him)

khiemle@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for mRNA manufacturing.

Isaac Ramírez Marrero

Isaac Ramírez Marrero (he/him)

iramirez@umass.edu

Investigating the effect of polymer chemistry on the physical properties of solid polyelectrolyte complex films.

Diwakaran Rathinam Palaniswamy

Diwakaran Rathinam Palaniswamy (he/him)

drathinampal@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for mRNA manufacturing.

Arvind Sathyavageeswaran

Arvind Sathyavageeswaran (he/him)

asathyavagee@umass.edu

Studying sequence effects in complex coacervation with a goal of encapsulating and stabilizing biologic materials.

Faviola Villariny-Rosado

Faviola Villariny-Rosado (she/her)

fvillariny@umass.edu

Complex coacervate materials.


Xianci Zeng

Xianci Zeng (she/her)

xiancizeng@umass.edu

Studying sequence effects in complex coacervation with a goal of encapsulating and stabilizing biologic materials.


Research Assistants

Jacob Belden

Jacob Belden (he/him)

jtbelden@umass.edu

Protein encapsulation in complex coacervates.

Yaozu Chen

Yaozu Chen (he/him)

yaozuchen@umass.edu

Designing X-ray compatible microfluidics.

Ethan Eroh

Ethan Eroh (he/him)

eeroh@umass.edu

Microfluidics to manufacture mRNA.

Mazin Hussein

Mazin Hussein (he/him)

mazinhussein@umass.edu

Droplet microfluidics to study complex coacervate phase behavior.

Arjun Iyer

Arjun Iyer (he/him)

agiyer@umass.edu

Encapsulating proteins in complex coacervates.

Elena Kim

Elena Kim (she/her)

irekim@umass.edu

Microfluidics for mRNA manufacture.

Jonathan Leventhal

Jonathan Leventhal (he/him)

jleventhal@umass.edu

The effect of alcohol on complex coacervates.

Raneem Mokdad

Raneem Mokdad (she/her)

rmokdad@umass.edu

Hydrogen bonding in complex coacervates.

Kai Musick

Kai Musick (they/them)

bmusick@umass.edu

Evaporation of coacervate droplets on various surfaces.

Emily Ng

Emily Ng (she/her)

emilyng@umass.edu

Polyelectrolyte complexes as materials.

Ethan Rivers

Ethan Rivers (he/him)

erivers@umass.edu

Multiphase complex coacervation.

Adhithi Varadarajan

Adhithi Varadarajan (she/her)

avaradarajan@umass.edu

Complex coacervate-core micelles in organic solvents.