Perry Research Group

Current Members

Principal Investigator

Prof. Sarah Perry

Prof. Sarah Perry

perrys@engin.umass.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering


Graduate Students

Whitney Blocher

Whitney Blocher

wblocher@umass.edu

Utilizing sequence-controlled polypeptide-based complex coacervates to stabilize encapsulated proteins.

Li-Wei Chang

Li-Wei Chang

liweichang@umass.edu

Understanding the role of charge and chemical patterning in complex coacervation.

Yalin Liu

Yalin Liu

yalinliu@umass.edu

Designing material transitions in polyelectrolyte complex materials.

Zoey Meng

Xiangxi “Zoey” Meng

xiangximeng@umass.edu

Developing methods for encapsulating antimicrobial and catalytic molecules into thin films and nanofibers of polyelectrolyte complex-based materials.

Shuo Sui

Shuo Sui

ssui@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for high-throughput time-resolved protein crystallography.

Juanfeng Sun

Juanfeng Sun

juanfengsun@umass.edu

Electrospinning of complex coacervates.

Research Assistants

Telvin Abariga

Telvin Abariga

tabariga@umass.edu

Polyelectrolyte complexes as selectively permeable membranes.

Kush Basu

Kush Basu

kbasu@umass.edu

Salt partitioning in self-assembling complex coacervate systems.

Caleb Boucher

Caleb Boucher

caboucher@umass.edu

Polyelectrolyte complex film and fiber formation.

Abbie Cabral

Abbie Cabral

amcabral@umass.edu

Protein encapsulation using complex coacervation.

Bryan Chua

Bryan Chua

bchua@umass.edu

Developing low-cost solutions for creating medical grade water.

Lila Duran Ruiz

Lila Durán Ruiz

laduran@umass.edu

Incorporating conjugated polymers into polyelectrolyte complex materials.

Svilen Kolev

Svilen Kolev

skolev@umass.edu

Microfluidics for studing protein folding diseases.

Matt Labbe

Matt Labbe

mlabbe@umass.edu

Rheological characterization of complex coacervates.

Josh McGee

Josh McGee

jemcgee@umass.edu

Design and fabrication of X-ray compatible microfluidic devices.

Devin Rafferty

Devin Rafferty

drafferty@umass.edu

Polymer synthesis and materials characterization of architecture and zwitterionic effects in polyelectrolyte systems.

Savannah Szemethy

Savannah Szemethy

sszemethy@umass.edu

Microfluidics and art.

Hansen Tjo

Hansen Tjo

htjo@umass.edu

Characterizing coacervation in ternary macro-ion systems.

Shari Traiger

Shari Traiger

straiger@umass.edu

Protein encapsulation using complex coacervation.

Elizabeth Voke

Elizabeth Voke

evoke@umass.edu

Understanding the effects of charge patterning on polypeptide-based complex coacervation.

Robin Zollner

Robin Zollner

rzollner@umass.edu

Preparation and characterization of polyelectrolyte complex materials.

Bryanne Zonghi

Bryanne Zonghi

bzonghi@umass.edu

Particle-based complex coacervate materials.