Perry Research Group

Current Members

Principal Investigator

Prof. Sarah Perry

Prof. Sarah Perry

perrys@engin.umass.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering


Graduate Students

Whitney Blocher

Whitney Blocher

wblocher@umass.edu

Utilizing sequence-controlled polypeptide-based complex coacervates to stabilize encapsulated proteins.

Li-Wei Chang

Li-Wei Chang

liweichang@umass.edu

Understanding the role of charge and chemical patterning in complex coacervation.

Yalin Liu

Yalin Liu

yalinliu@umass.edu

Designing material transitions in polyelectrolyte complex materials.

Zoey Meng

Xiangxi “Zoey” Meng

xiangximeng@umass.edu

Developing methods for encapsulating antimicrobial and catalytic molecules into thin films and nanofibers of polyelectrolyte complex-based materials.

Shuo Sui

Shuo Sui

ssui@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for high-throughput time-resolved protein crystallography.

Research Assistants

Kush Basu

Kush Basu

kbasu@umass.edu

Salt partitioning in self-assembling complex coacervate systems.

Caleb Boucher

Caleb Boucher

caboucher@umass.edu

Polyelectrolyte complex film and fiber formation.

Rachel Brody

Rachel Brody

rbrody@umass.edu

Understanding protein encapsulation and stabilization in complex coacervates.

Tyler Carpenter

Tyler Carpenter

tcarpenter@umass.edu

Characterization of self-assembling complex coacervate systems.

Bryan Chua

Bryan Chua

bchua@umass.edu

Pioneering useful applications of polyelectrolyte complex materials.

Xi Hao

Xi "Ryan" Hao

xihao@umass.edu

Complex coacervate-based films as oxygen barriers in microfluidic devices.

Rebecca Hershman

Rebecca Hershman

rhershman@umass.edu

Characterization of self-assembling complex coacervate systems.

Brandon Johnston

Brandon Johnston

bjohnston@umass.edu

Polymer synthesis and materials characterization of architecture and zwitterionic effects in polyelectrolyte systems.

Matt Labbe

Matt Labbe

mlabbe@umass.edu

Rheological characterization of complex coacervates.

Savannah Szemethy

Savannah Szemethy

sszemethy@umass.edu

Microfluidics and art.

Elizabeth Voke

Elizabeth Voke

evoke@umass.edu

Understanding the effects of charge patterning on polypeptide-based complex coacervation.

Robin Zollner

Robin Zollner

rzollner@umass.edu

Preparation and characterization of polyelectrolyte complex materials.