Perry Research Group

Current Members

Principal Investigator

Prof. Sarah Perry

Prof. Sarah Perry

perrys@engin.umass.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering


Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Mingjun Zhou

Dr. Mingjun Zhou

mingjunzhou@umass.edu

Particle-polymer complex coacervates.


Graduate Students

Whitney Blocher McTigue

Whitney Blocher McTigue

wblocher@umass.edu

Utilizing sequence-controlled polypeptide-based complex coacervates to stabilize encapsulated proteins.

Nicholas Bryant

Nicholas Bryant

nbryant@umass.edu

Complex coacervates for films and coatings.

Yalin Liu

Yalin Liu

yalinliu@umass.edu

Designing material transitions in polyelectrolyte complex materials.

Zoey Meng

Xiangxi “Zoey” Meng

xiangximeng@umass.edu

Developing methods for encapsulating antimicrobial and catalytic molecules into thin films and nanofibers of polyelectrolyte complex-based materials.

Sarthak Saha

Sarthak Saha

ssaha@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for high-throughput protein crystallization and drug discovery.

Shuo Sui

Shuo Sui

ssui@umass.edu

Microfluidic platforms for high-throughput time-resolved protein crystallography.

Yimin Sun

Yimin Sun

yiminsun@umass.edu

Developing coacervate-inspired cryptic materials.

Zoey Meng

Xianci Zeng

xiancizeng@umass.edu

Studying sequence effects in complex coacervation with a goal of encapsulating and stabilizing biologic materials.

Research Assistants

Ali Ahmad Jallow

Ali Ahmad Jallow

ajallow@umass.edu

Cargo uptake into polyelectrolyte complexes.

Greg Donovan

Greg Donovan

gwdonovan@umass.edu

Electrospinning complex coacervates.

Lila Duran Ruiz

Lila Durán Ruiz

laduran@umass.edu

Incorporating conjugated polymers into polyelectrolyte complex materials.

Elizabeth McDermott

Elizabeth McDermott

emcdermott@umass.edu

Understanding the interactions between proteins and polymer zwitterions.

Josh McGee

Josh McGee

jemcgee@umass.edu

Design and fabrication of X-ray compatible microfluidic devices.

Devin Rafferty

Devin Rafferty

drafferty@umass.edu

Polymer synthesis and materials characterization of architecture and zwitterionic effects in polyelectrolyte systems.

Alistaire Rauch

Alistaire Rauch

arauch@umass.edu

Microfluidics to study protein folding diseases.

Jonathan Selway

Jonathan Selway

jselway@umass.edu

Protein structure determination.

Hansen Tjo

Hansen Tjo

htjo@umass.edu

Characterizing coacervation in ternary macro-ion systems.

Shari Traiger

Shari Traiger

straiger@umass.edu

Protein encapsulation using complex coacervation.

Elizabeth Voke

Elizabeth Voke

evoke@umass.edu

Understanding the effects of charge patterning on polypeptide-based complex coacervation.