Caren Rotello Elected Fellow of Society of Experimental Psychologists

​Caren Rotello, Professor and Department Chair of the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, has been elected a Fellow of the Society of Experimental Psychologists (SEP).  Founded in 1904, SEP is described as "the oldest and most prestigious honorary society in psychology." SEP admits only a handful of leading experimental psychologists in North America as members each year. With a current membership of 220 individuals, they represent about 5-10% of practicing experimental psychologists. Members have expertise in several areas including experimental, cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, developmental, and social psychology, and neuroscience. 

The main goal of the society is "To advance psychology by arranging informal conferences on experimental psychology." SEP holds annual spring meetings at a host university featuring presentations and discussions of papers authored by society members. Meetings are organized by a society member of the host university who serves as the SEP chair for that year. They are open to all members and to students and faculty of the host university invited by the chair. 

The society also grants two awards each year: the Howard Crosby Warren Medal for substantial advances in experimental psychology over the last five years, and the Norman Anderson Lifetime Achievement Award given to senior members with an excellent history of contribution to the field of experimental psychology.

Society of Experimental Psychologists (2017). About SEP: The Society of Experimental Psychologists.