University of Massachusetts Amherst Alumni Association Announces 2010 Distinguished Alumni Awards

AMHERST, Mass. ─ The University of Massachusetts Amherst Alumni Association is proud to announce their 2010 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients, whose accomplishments will be recognized at a prestigious awards luncheon at the Massachusetts State House in Boston on April 14, 2010. Each year the Alumni Association honors alumni, faculty, and friends who have built on their UMass Amherst experience to attain distinguished achievements in the public, business or service realms. Lt. Governor Timothy Murray, as well as University of Massachusetts President Jack Wilson and UMass Amherst Chancellor Robert C. Holub will address those in attendance prior to the awards presentation.

Those being honored for the 2010 Distinguished Alumni Awards include Dr. Dev Gupta ’77 Ph.D (pictured at right) and Dr. Richard H. Holm ’55, ’79 Honorary. Dr. Dev Gupta is an adjunct professor in the UMass Amherst Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. He is also the founder and CEO of NewLANS, a company pioneering broadband and wireless technologies. Dr. Richard H. Holm is the Higgins Research Professor of Chemistry at Harvard University. His research has led to substantial contributions in the field of synthetic inorganic chemistry and has been significant in the development of bioinorganic chemistry.

Melvin Howard ’57, now retired, is honored with the 2010 Distinguished Alumni Service Award. Howard has had an impressive 40-year career leading some of the nation''s top business firms, including positions as Vice Chairman of Xerox Corporation and CEO of Xerox Financial Services. He was one of the original founders of the UMass Amherst Commonwealth College, and has for the past twelve years served as the chairman of the Commonwealth College Advisory Board.

Dr. Melinda Novak, honored with the 2010 Distinguished Faculty Award, is professor of psychology and chair of the Department of Psychology at UMass Amherst, as well as director of the UMass Primate Laboratory.

Dr. Otto Vogl, honored with the 2010 Distinguished Honorary Alumni Award, is a Professor Emeritus of Polymer Science at UMass Amherst and the Herman F. Mark Professor Emeritus of the Polytechnic University in New York. He is a pioneer in the field of polymer science, most noted for his work on the polymerization of higher aldehydes and the importance of the ceiling temperature of polymerization.

For more information about each of these remarkable individuals and their achievements, go to:


The University of Massachusetts Amherst Alumni Association represents over 220,000 alumni around the globe, and provides programs and services to enlighten, strengthen and develop students, faculty, staff and alumni. For more information, go to For information related to this program, please call 800.456.8627.

If you are a journalist interested in covering the Distinguished Alumni Awards, please send a note of interest with your credentials to Andrea Robbins at, by April 9 at 5 p.m. A limited number of passes are available for this event.

Media Contact:
Norma Heim