UMass Amherst Undergraduate Commencement is Friday, May 11 at 4 p.m. in McGuirk Alumni Stadium


DATE: Friday, May 11, 2012

TIME: 4 p.m.

PLACE: McGuirk Alumni Stadium

Undergraduate Commencement at the University of Massachusetts Amherst on Friday, May 11 from 4-5:30 p.m. will feature a keynote address by Ted Koppel, one of the most well-known and honored television journalists in the country. He will speak to the 5,000 graduates at ceremonies at McGuirk Alumni Stadium. Koppel will also receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree at the ceremony.

All reporters and photographers, including those from on-campus media outlets, must contact the Office of News & Media Relations at 413/545-0444 to obtain passes for the ceremony. Passes will be available for pick-up on the second floor of Munson Hall. Unless other arrangements are made, it is strongly advised that media representatives obtain their passes by 5 p.m. on Wednesday, May 9.

In addition to the undergraduate ceremony, Graduate Commencement will be held Friday, May 11 at 9 a.m. in the Mullins Center. The Stockbridge School holds its commencement on Saturday, May 12 at 10 a.m. in Bowker Auditorium.

At the Undergraduate Commencement ceremony, alumnus Eugene M. Isenberg will receive the Legacy of Leadership Award, which honors visionary individuals who have led organizations to new heights of achievement and in the process demonstrated a strong belief in the importance of public service, social diversity and improving the quality of life for all. Ronald M. Ansin and alumnus Edward D. Shirley will receive Distinguished Achievement Awards, recognizing high accomplishment in a given field or profession and notable contributions to society.

At the Graduate School Commencement, more than 1,200 candidates will receive master’s and doctoral degrees. Alumnus Mark E. Russell will receive an honorary Doctor of Engineering degree and will be the keynote speaker.

The Stockbridge School graduation ceremony follows on Saturday, May 12 at 10 a.m. Approximately 100 candidates will receive associate of science degrees. Steve Goodwin, dean of the College of Natural Sciences, will be the keynote speaker.