UMass Amherst Senior Leadership Awards Announced

AMHERST, Mass. - The following 11 seniors at the University of Massachusetts Amherst are the recipients of the 21st Century Leader Awards, to be presented during Commencement ceremonies Sunday, May 25 at 10 a.m. in Warren P. McGuirk Alumni Stadium. Each recipient''s hometown and major field of study are included.

* Heather A. Berthiaume, of North Dighton, Mass., communication disorders;

* Christina Calvaneso, of Coto de Caza, Calif., operations management;

* Jorge L. Oliver Diaz, of Yaucom, Puerto Rico, history and classics;

* Kristin Leigh Forloney, of Amherst, Mass., microbiology;

* Judd E. Galloway, of Burlington, Iowa, civil and environmental engineering;

* Jonathan J. Laubinger, of Bridgewater, Mass., philosophy;

* Erica Holly Mattison, of Brookline, Mass., psychology;

* William A. Powers, of Danvers, Mass., political science and psychology;

* Heather L. Ruel, of Granby, Mass., geography;

* Doug White, of Claremont, Calif., management;

* Nicole Marie Yukna, of Norton, Mass., history.

The senior leadership awards are sponsored by the Chancellor''s Office and the UMass Amherst Alumni Association. The awards are designed to recognize students who are academically accomplished and who have contributed to the University by exceptional achievements that distinguish themselves or enhance the reputation of the campus.