UMass Amherst Faculty Stand Out as Linguistic Society of America Elects Four as Fellows

Seth Cable Wins Early Career Award

AMHERST, Mass. - The nationally ranked linguistics department at the University of Massachusetts Amherst dominated the recent election of fellows by the Linguistic Society of America (LSA) as four faculty members and a Ph.D. graduate of the program were chosen for the honor.

Among the 10 newly elected fellows are professors Alice Harris and Angelika Kratzer, Distinguished University Professor John McCarthy and Elisabeth O. Selkirk, professor emerita. Irene Heim, who received her doctorate from UMass Amherst in 1982, was also elected. She is currently a faculty member at MIT.

Another UMass Amherst faculty member, Seth Cable, was chosen to receive LSA’s Early Career Award, which is given to a new scholar who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of linguistics. An assistant professor, Cable joined the UMass Amherst faculty in 2007.

LSA fellows are elected by the at-large members of the association’s executive committee from nominations submitted by the organization’s membership. The honor recognizes distinguished contributions to the discipline.

The new fellows will be inducted on Jan. 6, 2012 during the LSA’s annual business meeting in Portland, Ore.

Founded in 1924, the Linguistic Society of America is the major professional organization in the United States that is exclusively dedicated to the advancement of the scientific study of language. LSA has more than 5,000 members.