UMass Amherst Faculty Convocation to Feature First Formal Address to Faculty by Chancellor Robert Holub

AMHERST, Mass. – University of Massachusetts Amherst Chancellor Robert C. Holub will make his first formal address to the faculty at the university’s fourth annual Faculty Convocation on Friday, Sept. 12. The event will begin at 11 a.m. in Bowker Auditorium in Stockbridge Hall.

Holub, who assumed the position of chancellor Aug. 1, will deliver remarks to the campus community as part of the ceremony. The Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creative Activity will be presented to seven nationally known faculty members. They are: Soren Bisgaard, finance and operations management; Laurie R. Godfrey, anthropology; Victor R. Lesser, computer science; Thomas J. McCarthy, polymer science and engineering; David Julian McClements, food science; George N. Parks, music and dance, and Donald F. Towsley, computer science.

Prior to the event, faculty members and administrators in academic regalia will march in a procession from the lobby of the Fine Arts Center to the auditorium. A luncheon reception for the honorees will follow the convocation.