UMass Amherst Education Professors Honored by National Organizations

AMHERST, Mass. - Two faculty members from the School of Education at the University of Massachusetts Amherst were honored recently for their professional accomplishments.

Ronald Hambleton, Distinguished Professor in the department of educational policy, research and administration, received the American Educational Research Association’s Robert L. Linn Award for his outstanding contributions to measurement and educational policy.

The award, which was presented at AERA’s annual meeting in New Orleans, also recognizes his work in the areas of test adaptation methodology, international assessment, item response theory, score reporting and setting performance standards.

As the recipient of the award, he has been invited to address the AERA’s 2012 annual meeting in Vancouver.

Hambleton is a resident of Amherst.

Sonia Nieto, professor emerita in the department of teacher education and curriculum studies, was selected as a laureate of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP), the international education honor society established in 1911 to foster excellence in education and promote fellowship among those dedicated to teaching.

Membership in the KDP Laureate chapter is limited to 60 people who, by their lives and work, exemplify the highest ideals of education. Nieto will join Margaret Mead, Albert Einstein and Jean Piaget as a KDP Laureate when she is inducted at the society''s centennial convocation in Indianapolis in November.

A longtime champion of multicultural education dating back to her teaching days at the P.S. 25 in the Bronx, the first fully bilingual school in the Northeast, Nieto is nationally recognized for her work in multicultural and bilingual education and curriculum reform.

Earlier this year, she was named a fellow of the AERA in recognition of her exceptional scholarly contribution to education research in the field of multicultural and bilingual education.

Nieto also lives in Amherst.