UMass Amherst’s Ninth Annual Faculty Convocation is Oct. 4 in Bowker Auditorium


DATE:            Friday, Oct. 4, 2013

TIME:             11 a.m. 

PLACE:          Bowker Auditorium, Stockbridge Hall

The University of Massachusetts Amherst is holding its Ninth Annual Faculty Convocation to honor five nationally acclaimed faculty members with the Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creative Activity.

Chancellor Kumble R. Subbaswamy will give the keynote address and present the awards.

Those receiving awards are: Daniela Calzetti, astronomy; Leonce Ndikumana, economics; Stephen R. Platt, history; Danny J. Schnell, biochemistry and molecular biology, and Sankaran Thayumanavan, chemistry.

A luncheon reception in the Student Union Ballroom for the chancellor and the honorees will be held immediately following the ceremony.

All participating faculty are asked to wear academic regalia during convocation, which will begin with an academic processional across the campus, leaving from the Cape Cod Lounge in the Student Union, going past the Campus Pond, around Herter Hall and then past the W.E.B. Du Bois Library before entering Stockbridge Hall – weather permitting.