Kinesiology Students Win NEACSM Awards, Scholarships at Fall Conference

Kinesiology students at the NEACSM Fall Meeting.
Kinesiology students at the NEACSM Fall Meeting.

Seven students from the department of kinesiology received awards or scholarships during the New England Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine (NEACSM) Fall Conference in October in Providence, Rhode Island.

Doctoral student Brittany Masteller received the David N. Camaione Doctoral Scholarship. The criteria for the $1,000 award are academic excellence, professional experience, professional activities such as attending conferences and workshops, publication of peer-reviewed research, and skill in obtaining grants.

Graduate student Greg Petrucci received the Mark Connolly Memorial Masters Scholarship. The $750 award is given to a student researching areas of clinical or basic exercise science or sports medicine. Selection is based on academic excellence, work experience, professional activities including professional memberships, and a poster or free communication presentation at the NEACSM annual meeting.

Melanna Coxwon the NEACSM Lawrence E. Armstrong Minority Scholarship, which is awarded to support and encourage professional development and academic excellence in minority students in the New England region. The award includes a $750 prize.

Doctoral student Corinna Serviente was named the winning presenter in the “NEACSM President’s Cup,” a competition of research poster presentations at the meeting. The award includes a travel grant of $1,200 and a registration waiver for Serviente to travel to the national ACSM conference in 2018.

Sarah Burkart, Julia Miehm and Dhanya Kumar received NEACSM Student Investigator awards at the three degree levels – doctoral, masters, and undergraduate, respectively. The awards are given for student presentations at the meeting and include $500 prizes.

The department also fielded a team in the NEACSM’s annual College Bowl, which pits teams of undergraduates against each other in a test of kinesiology knowledge. Colleen Morin, Connor Saleeba and Kara Eisenberg competed under the coaching of doctoral candidates Liam Fitzgerald and Brittany Masteller and faculty mentor Judi LaBranche.

Professor and department chair Jane Kent said, “It was so exciting to see the students recognized for their excellence in research. The department of kinesiology at UMass Amherst has a reputation for training and mentoring outstanding students, and this commitment was clearly evident at the NEACSM conference.”