Eagen Begins Duties as New Associate Provost for Academic Personnel

Michael Eagen
Michael Eagen

Michael Eagen joined Academic Affairs March 13 as the new associate provost for academic personnel, according to Katherine S. Newman, provost and senior vice chancellor for academic affairs. 

Eagen is assuming most of the responsibilities of John Bryan, who will continue part-time to complete the current round of collective bargaining and will then work on limited projects before retiring.

“We are delighted that Michael Eagen is joining our community,” says Newman. “He has extensive experience in labor relations and enjoys the confidence of all parties at the University of Connecticut where he has served with distinction for many years in a similar role. Michael will help us ensure that UMass remains the positive environment it has long been for all of our employees.” 

A lawyer by training, Eagen most recently served as the director of faculty and staff labor relations for the University of Connecticut, where he provided leadership and direction for the university’s employee relations and collective bargaining functions. He also served as counsel for labor and employment within UConn’s Office of the General Counsel. His primary focus at UConn was to oversee academic personnel administration and to ensure positive and constructive relations between the administration and UConn’s faculty and graduate assistant unions. Eagen has been an adjunct instructor for the UConn School of Business teaching labor law and labor relations in the business mastery program for public service professionals.

Prior to joining UConn, Eagen was director of personnel and labor relations for the Waterbury Board of Education. He is an active participant in numerous professional associations including the Academy of Academic Personnel Administrators and the National Center for the Study of Collective Bargaining in Higher Education.  

Eagen received his B.A. in economics from the University of Connecticut and his J.D., cum laude, from Western New England University School of Law.