Chancellor Announces New Task Force on Resource Allocation

As part of an ongoing strategic planning process, Chancellor Kumble Subbaswamy and the Faculty Senate have launched a joint effort to review how resource allocation works on campus, explore practices at other schools and recommend a process to be used in the years ahead.

In a Dec. 4 broadcast e-mail to faculty and staff, Subbaswamy announced the appointment of a new, 22-member Joint Task Force on Resource Allocation (JTFRA), co-chaired by Tim Anderson, dean of the College of Engineering, and Elizabeth Chilton, professor of anthropology and associate dean for research in the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences.

“Just as we are working now through the strategic planning process to develop common goals, we ought to have a common understanding of how and why resources are distributed,” said the chancellor. “JTFRA will explore approaches used at other institutions and they will imagine entirely new approaches. They will then recommend a resource allocation process that ensures transparency, rewards initiative, and reassures all of us that our resources and our intentions are aligned.”

Representing the Faculty Senate on the task force are are Ernest May, secretary of the senate, MJ Peterson, chair of the Rules Committee, A. Yemisi Jimoh, chair of the Academic Priorities Council, D. Anthony Butterfield, chair of the Program and Budget Council and five faculty appointed by the Rules Committee: Laura Briggs, women, gender, sexuality studies; Julie Brigham-Grette, geosciences; David Evans, educational policy, research and administration; Patrick Kelly, electrical and computer engineering, and Jennifer Normanly, biochemistry and molecular biology.

Other task force members are:

Megan Kingston of the Student Government Association

Timothy Sutton of the Graduate Student Senate

Andrew Mangels, associate vice chancellor for finance and budget director

Bryan Harvey, associate provost for academic and resource planning

Mark Fuller, dean of the Isenberg School of Management

Julie Buehler, vice chancellor for information services and strategy and chief information officer

Mari Castañeda, director of diversity advancement, Social and Behavioral Sciences

Stephen Cavanagh, dean of the College of Nursing

Mike Malone, vice chancellor for research and engagement

Nancy Cohen, co-chair, Joint Task Force on Strategic Oversight

Amilcar Shabazz, co-chair, Joint Task Force on Strategic Oversight