Bromery reappointed to President's Committee on the National Medal of Science

By Daniel J. Fitzgibbons

Randolph W. Bromery, former chancellor and Commonwealth Professor Emeritus of geophysics, has been reappointed by President George W. Bush to a three-year term on the President’s Committee on the National Medal of Science.

Bromery, who will serve through Dec. 31, 2007, was originally appointed to the 12-member panel in 2003 to fill the remainder of an unexpired term.

Established by Congress in 1959, the National Medal of Science is given to individuals “deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge” in the physical, biological, mathematical, engineering, social and behavioral sciences. The president’s committee evaluates nominees for the medal and sends its recommendations to the White House.

“It’s a small committee composed of top scientists in various disciplines,” says Bromery, whose primary responsibility is to review nominees in the fields of mathematics, physics and geology. “It’s a difficult job because there are so many people who merit consideration. How do you pick that one or two to recommend?”

Bromery was chancellor from 1972-79 and later served as acting president of Westfield State College in 1988-90, president of Springfield College from 1992-99, and acting president of Roxbury Community College in 2002-03. He was also interim chancellor of the state Board of Regents of Higher Education in 1990-91.

He joined the Geology and Geography faculty in 1967 and was appointed Commonwealth Professor in 1979. He retired from teaching in 1992.

Bromery is a member of the University of Massachusetts Amherst Foundation and a trustee of The John Hopkins University, where he received his Ph.D. in geology.