Academic departments consolidated

By Daniel J. Fitzgibbons

As of July 1, several reorganizations affecting a dozen academic departments across four schools and colleges went into effect and resulted in the creation of three new units. The departmental consolidations, which were supported by the respective deans, were approved in April and May by the Faculty Senate.

“The changes affect only the organization of departments; all existing degree programs remain intact and unchanged,” said Provost Charlena Seymour in a July 28 e-mail to deans, directors and department heads.

The most sweeping change affects the departments of Asian Languages and Literatures, Comparative Literature, French and Italian, Germanic Languages and Literatures, and Spanish and Portuguese, which are now part of a single Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures in the College of Humanities and Fine Arts (CHFA). The new department is chaired by Robert Schwartzwald, who is located in 312 Herter Hall, 545-2314.

The Journalism Department, previously within CHFA, has been consolidated with the Department of Communication in the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences. Michael Morgan is the department chair. His office is in 403 Machmer Hall, 545-1311.

Within the College of Natural Resources and the Environment, the Entomology Department and the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences are now the Department of Plant, Soil and Insect Sciences. The new department head is Peter Veneman, whose office is in 100 French Hall, 545-2242.

Three departments in the School of Public Health and Health Sciences — Biostatistics and Epidemiology, Community Health Studies, and Environmental Health Sciences —were merged into a new Department of Public Health, chaired by Philip Nasca. His office is in 408 Arnold House, 545-4603.

The transfers of 72 tenured faculty in the merged units to their new departments were approved by the Board of Trustees on Aug. 4.