Skip to main content

News and Events Archive

News Archive

  • Janna Mantua recipient of Sleep Research Society Abstract Merit Based Award

    NSB student Janna Mantua (Spencer lab) is a recipient of a Sleep Research Society Abstract Merit Based Award.  This award is based on the scientific merit of the abstract that she submitted for presentation at SLEEP 2015, the 29th Annual Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies that will be held June 6-10, 2015 in Seattle, WA.   Janna received a Meritorius Award of $500.  Congratulations to Janna!

  • Amanda Cremone received travel award from CRF

    NSB student Amanda Cremone (Spencer lab) received a travel award from the University of Massachusetts Center for Research on Families (CRF).  CRF provided funding to Amanda to present Influence of a Mid-Day Nap on Response Inhibition in Preschool-Aged Children at the Society for Research in Child Development’s conference in Philadelphia.

  • Park paper published in Cerebral Cortex

    NSB faculty member Joonkoo Park's paper titled "Rapid and Direct Encoding of Numerosity in the Visual Stream" was recently published in Cerebral Cortex.

  • Ajay Kumar is runner up in Innovation Challenge

    Current Neuroscience & Behavior Program student Ajay Kumar (Bittman lab) was a runner up in UMass' Innovation Challenge MinutePitch competition.  Ajay (as a member of Team GeneRisk) proposed a software and web database combination that allows clinicians to deposit raw genetic data to obtain a risk score for Autism Spectrum or related disorders.  Congratulations to Ajay!

  • Sandra Petersen to receive Presidential Award for STEM mentoring

    NSB faculty member Sandra Petersen is set to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering.  She will receive her award at a White House ceremony later this year.  According to a press release, the White House presents the awards "to individuals and organizations to recognize the crucial role that mentoring plays in the academic and personal development of students studying scince and engineering--particularly those who belong to groups underrepresented in these fields."   Dr. Petersen is one of only 14 individuals and one organization to receive this award this year.  In addition to being honored at the White House, Dr. Petersen will also receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.  Congratulations to Dr. Petersen!

  • Adaeze Egwuatu awarded a Millenium Scholars Fellowship

    Adaeze Egwuatu, 1st year NSB student working in Jennifer McDermott's lab, was awarded a Millenium Scholars Fellowship through the Society for Research on Child Development (SRCD) for a recent conference meeting in Philadelphia.  The Frances Degen Horowitz Millennium Scholars Program "offers the selected scholars mentorship from advanced graduate students and early career scholars in the field who provide them guidance and support in their pursuit of educational and professional goals."  Congratulations to Adaeze!

  • Lauri Kurdziel receives the Outstanding Dissertation Award from the SRCD

    NSB alum Lauri Kurdziel has received the Outstanding Dissertation Award from the Society for Research on Child Development (SRCD).   Lauri is currently working as a postdoctoral researcher in NSB faculty member Rebecca Spencer's lab.  Congratulations to Lauri!

  • Luke Remage-Healey receives the Endocrine Society Early Investigator Award

    NSB faculty member Luke Remage-Healey won the 2015 Endocrine Society Early Investigator Award.  This award is given to early career investigators in recognition of their accomplishments in Endocrine Research.  Recipients receive a monetary award, one-year complimentary membership to the Society, one-year complimentary access to the Society's online journals, and public recognition of research accomplishments in the recipients' home town and various Society mediums.  Congratulations to Luke!

  • Jeffery Blaustein named fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

    NSB Professor Jeffrey Blaustein has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for their distinguished efforts to advance science or its application.  According to a press release, Dr. Blaustein was recognized for “distinguished research in behavioral neuroendocrinology, with exceptional contributions toward understanding the cellular processes by which steroid hormones act in neurons, particularly with respect to reproductive behavior.”  Congratulations to Jeff.

  • Heather Richardson study suggests teen binge drinking effects may last a lifetime

    NSB faculty member Heather Richardson's study on a study that suggests teen binge drinking effects may last a lifetime has been published in the October 29 issue of The Journal of Neuroscience.  According to a recent UMass press release, Heather Richardson and other researchers from UMass (including current NSB student Wanette Vargas) and Louisiana State University examined myelin at the end of the binge-drinking period and found that it was reduced in the prefrontal cortex of the binge drinking adolescent rats. In a separate experiment, they examined myelin several months later after testing for adult drinking behaviors and found that adolescent alcohol drinking caused significant white matter loss and damage to myelin in the prefrontal cortex. 

Colloquia Archive

To find more seminars offered by MCB, NSB, OEB and PB, visit the Graduate Programs in Life Sciences Calendar.

  • 2014

    The representation of episodic memory in single neurons of the human hippocampus

    John Wixted

  • 2014

    Principles of neural design

    Peter Sterling

  • 2014

    Identification of the neurocircuitry and molecular mechanisms underlying nicotine withdrawal

    Andrew Tapper

  • 2014

    Circadian eating pattern in health and disease

    Satchin Panda

  • 2014

    SINAUER ASSOCIATES LECTURE: From song to synapse: The neurobiology of vocal learning

    Richard Mooney

  • 2014

    Deep brain photoreceptors and sensory control of behavior in zebrafish

    Harold Burgess

  • 2014

    NSB Student Presentations

    Ajay Kumar and Akshata Sonni

  • 2014

    NSB Student Presentations

    Chaia Flegenheimer, Janna Mantua, and Amanda Cremone

  • 2014

    NSB Dissertation Presentation (2 p.m.): The role of napping on memory consolidation in preschool children

    Lauri Kurdziel

  • 2014

    Molecular Regulation of Prefrontal Cortex: Vulnerabilities for Cognitive Disorders

    Amy Arnsten